Whitby Summer

He sits on a bench
adjacent to Captain Cook;
with only pencil and rubber,
depicts most accurately
St. Marys and the Abbey
on the hill across the bay.

Beside him a little girl
(his daughter?)
aged maybe nine or ten
draws with exquisite detail
their dog, a Jack Russell,
who sits on the grass before them

and warily eyes
the herring gulls
as they strut past,
look towards him with disdain;
know they have advantage
of height and weight and wings.

27 Responses to “Whitby Summer”

  1. belfastdavid Says:

    I wrote this poem because I wanted to try out my new word processor and then see if I could copy and paste it into WordPress.
    That all seemed to work 🙂

    So now I need to see about copying poems back from the internet and saving them on my computer – I am sure that will work too

    I hope you enjoy the poem

    David

  2. christine Says:

    This is wonderful David and a beautiful title too!

    I can, from your words, easily visualise that disdainful look and the indignant stance of thos wonderful birds.

    The poem goes, in the third verse, somewhere I didn’t expect and it was a lovely surprise.

    Another of your best I have to say.

    Lots of love

    and many, many hugs

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Christine,

      The poem was written quickly – just closed my eyes and let my mind drift to its favourite place and let the poem emerge.

      I would love to be able to drawwith pencil and rubber but will just have to content myself to drawing with words 🙂

      Lots of love and many hugs to you too

      David
      xxx

  3. Hi David,

    I am glad to see it is working out alright! This is a lovely scene, the disdain of the seagulls (herring gulls?), they do have an attitude!

    I know that spot! I was there! 🙂

    Drawing is so much fun, the way you picture this scene here, to do that together with grandchildren, it is something to look forward to!

    Just wondering: you wrote : “depicts, ” why is that not depict? Is “depicts” not a verb, or is “pencil and rubber” not plural? (Maybe it is to be seen as one) Hope it is okay to ask. 🙂

    With love
    Ina

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Ina,

      I know you have been there – it is a place I never tire of visiting 🙂
      Drawing is one of those things I really wish I could do, but it is not one of my talents 🙂

      As to “depicts” I intended it to refer back to “he” so, at the very least, I should have had a comma after rubber. I will edit it to put one in. Please let me know if that works and thank you for pointing it out.

      With much love
      David

      • Yes, now I see how I should read it! The comma made all the difference 🙂
        He depicts – he = the old man! Thank you!

      • belfastdavid Says:

        Thank you Ina,

        Without your comment I doubt if I would have spotted that particular mistake. 🙂

        Hugs
        David

  4. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    You paint so very well with words!

    I have never been there,
    only seen photos on the web,
    but really enjoyed watching this scene through your poem.

    Best wishes for getting all organized, – you seem to be doing very well! 🙂

    with Love
    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Vera,

      I take your comment as a great compliment – I am delighted with it.

      And I do appear to be getting organised – at least I seem to be clear what it is I have to do – will keep me busy over the weeks to come – which is no bad thing!! 🙂

      With love
      David

  5. I have read this poem again, and I only now see it was not an old man, and his (maybe) granddaughter, but a man, and his (maybe) daughter. Have I imagined that elderly part? Or did you alter the poem? (I need new glasses maybe)

  6. Hey David,

    I really enjoy the vision this poem evokes.

    Cathy

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Cathy,

      Perhaps a poem about the ghost walks next 🙂
      Or maybe Dracula!!!

      David

  7. Hi David,

    This really appeals to me. In part obviously the artistic element but also the sense of the bonding between between the young and old through the artistic process. There’s a small element of passing on a love to the next generation. I like that.
    I like to the light atmosphere in this poem. Maybe it’s because there is no description of the weather, but I’m left feeling it was a lovely summer day.
    I love the gulls. 🙂 They are just so full of character. I’d imagine anyone who isn’t bearing chips to share is viewed with great suspision. 🙂
    I really enjoyed this poem. Thankyou for sharingg it. 🙂 I do enjoy your Whitby poems. 🙂

    I hope you are having a most lovely weekend?

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Tikarma,

      I often stand to watch the people drawing when I pass them by, perhaps with a touch of envy for their talent. So often they are solitary figures. To see the love moving through the generations is a delight.

      As to the gulls – there was a item on our local television news station a few days back – people complaining about the gulls at Whitby and about the fact that they stole their fish and chips. And I’m thinking Oh for goodness sake – the gulls live there, you are only a visitor!! If you don’t like gulls go somewhere else!!! 🙂

      As to Whitby poems, hopefully they will all come together soon. 🙂

      I am having a good weekend – a lot to do rescueing poems – but it keeps me out of mischief!! 🙂

      I hope you too are beginning to feel better.
      Take good care of yourself

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

      • Hi David,

        I am a little better thanks. I’m glad the poem resuce is going well. 🙂
        That’s ridiculous people complaining about the gulls. I completely agree people are the visitors and if you’re silly enough to walk away and have your fish and chips stolen..well…. *LOL* Sharing a few never hurt anyone, and certainly stops them from trying to steal the lot. I guess they haven’t heard of the word Shoo, while waving an arm…has always worked for me. 🙂

        Wishing you a pleasant weeks end…may you stumble upon a poem you’ve forgotten that brings you a smile. 🙂

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))

      • belfastdavid Says:

        *Big Smile*

        I did come across a poem which, in light of this conversation, made me smile.
        I have posted it now Enjoy 🙂

        You take good care of yourself

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        David
        xoxox

  8. Lovely, David – your usual blend of finely-observed detail, wistfulness and humour. Always a joy to read you. And I can tell you that pigeons regard whippets (or ours, at least) with exactly the same smug disdain. Two years old and he still hasn’t fully accepted that they can fly. Tsk.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Nick,

      You leave me smiling at the thought of the look of disappointment on your whippets face, every time!! 🙂

      David

  9. David,

    I like this a lot. I’m seeing beyond the words a bit–maybe too far, but you know me. *little grin*

    There is some interesting contrast between the man drawing a still architectural scene and the young girl sketching a moving, live model, but something she finds familiar. I suppose going beyond our boundaries and trying greater things is all a process that develops as we get older. You discipline yourself to larger tasks, but you leave behind some of what you love.

    Of course, the gulls strutted by and stole my attention. Typical, I’m guessing. *smile* Anyway, you took me there, and that is the mark of good writing.

    Love you,
    Shirley

    • Drawing and the ability to draw fascinates me Shirley. I have great admiration as you know for those who can do it well.

      I suspect they were both drawing what they loved 🙂

      The seagulls, of course, were less than impressed!!! I love the way herring gulls seem to strut!!

      In a way too I was drawing what I love – It is just that I draw using words 🙂

      Love
      David

Leave a Reply

