Cleaning the Living Room

Putting back the furniture,
I need remind myself,
once again,
that it does not mean
the end of the world
if the coffee table
is not precisely
equidistant
from the sofa
and the armchair.

I recall
another room,
another time,
the look
of anguish
on her face
when I moved
the pouffe;
a relationship
which died.

Ah, but that
is another story,
because
for now
I must
gird myself
before
moving
ornaments
whilst I dust.

27 Responses to “Cleaning the Living Room”

  1. christine Says:

    Now then David, why did the letters OCD spring right into my head?!! Because you are not at all that way inclined are you?!! *knowing grin*.

    You know lots of my ways but here’s another one Ruth pointed out to me recently! When sitting on the sofa everything I have with me is lined up perfectly straight on the arm; pen, remote for TV, mobile, throat sweets, book etc etc etc etc… equidistant of course!

    This poem cheered me , I m feeloing a little low today, just one of those things; it will pass.

    I love this.

    Lots of love
    and big hugs

    Christine
    xxx

    • christine Says:

      PS Good luck with the ornaments, and remember your tape measure doesnt work properly!!

      love

      xxx

      • belfastdavid Says:

        Now I am grinning,

        Clearly you are right – the tape measure is faulty!!!

        love xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile*

      But at least I no longer put the cereal packets in the cupboard in alphabetical order!!!! Mind you I only buy one sort of cereal!! πŸ™‚

      Glad to cheer you a bit πŸ™‚

      With lots of love and a gentle hug

      David
      xxx

  2. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    This poem creates such a nice feel, going about doing chores, and minding those little things which mean a lot to us.
    I like it!
    Personally I enjoy the luxury of finding things exactly where I left them and placing things where I like them. Though Karley drops toys where she likes and we had a few surprise squeals when visitors walk in and stepped on some squeaky toy …(Karley looks innocent!) I seem to avoid them successfully – most of the time πŸ™‚

    Have a great Sunday! πŸ™‚
    Love from
    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Vera,

      There is comfort in things being in their place and my living room feeling a safe place to be because of that.
      I just have to be careful that I don’t make myself a prisoner to conformity (I am capable of doing that πŸ™‚ ) so from time to time I move things around. I do too want the room to have a lived-in feel to it so that people feel comfortable when they come in to it – I think they do πŸ™‚

      I am smiling at Karley (her of the innocent look) who has the freedom in your house to drop her things exactly where she likes – just as it should be πŸ™‚

      I hope you both have a good week

      With love
      David

  3. πŸ™‚
    I very much like this David,
    I can relate too! There’s a comfort in having your possessions arranged just so…There’s as nice sense of satisfaction when you sit down and all is as it should be, ready for another round of life, rush and living.
    I don’t think of it as being OCD but being organised. There’s nothing worse than the frustration of looking for something you know has a home but you didn’t put it back where it belongs and now your tearing the house apart trying to find it. πŸ™‚
    I’ve become more “orgainsed” as I get older…not so big on being alphabetical but I like themes and categories…it makes sense to no-one but me…but it keeps me happy. :-)…And I always test the walking space between couch and coffee table…more accurate than the eye…*big grin*…

    Thankyou for the gentle smile that comes with the reassuring motions of the everyday.

    I hope your weekend has been a peaceful one.
    Arohanui
    ((BSH))
    Tikarma
    xxoxoox

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile*

      Thank you Tikarma,

      There is a fine line I think between OCD and “being organised” πŸ™‚
      I just have to be careful not to drift across it!!!

      I do like like your “it makes sense to no-one but me…” – just so!! πŸ™‚ The place for my newspaper is on the floor beside my armchair *grin*

      The only thing I am really fussy about is my poetry books – I have to have them in alphabetic order!! And I get cross if they are put back in the wrong order.

      Always delighted to provide you with a gentle smile πŸ™‚

      You have a real good week

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  4. I really like this. The event of moving your furniture back into place triggering the memory and then the dismissal of the memory and going back to work. Really cool!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Cathy,

      I am often liable to drift off when I am involved in the tasks of daily living πŸ™‚ – the reason why sometimes jobs get only half done!! πŸ™‚

      David

  5. I recognise myself here! Though I do try to limit my OCD tendencies to certain areas, for example my forks, spoons and knives are meticulously organized and stacked in the kitchen drawer. I can tolerate clutter elsewhere with the comforting knowledge that the flatware is perfectly correct! ;o) Very much enjoyed the poem. (I did, however, have to go look up what a “pouffe” might be. Thanks for the new word!)

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile*

      I suspect Jonnia we all have a certain propensity to OCD πŸ™‚
      I have just looked in my kitchen drawer – you would not approve!!! πŸ™‚

      Pouffes were very popular items of furniture when I was growing up. Less so nowadays although I am not sure why.

      David

  6. What an awesome word, equidistant!

  7. Just wonderful, David. There’s a dramatist’s touch to this one; the stanzas read like three acts in a play, in which you take us from a philosophical opening, through an emotional denouement, to a wry smile as the curtain falls. A super piece, and a perfect start to the new week. Thank you!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Nick,

      Delighted to start your week off well
      Don’t get too bogged down with the heat

      David

  8. I do think there is la sense of “three acts” or passages here ..I love how you create that feeling of atmosphere.. and time…wonderful piece David..

  9. I laughed reading this one. Hope you are not really like that all the time! I like the poem though and the fact that you can see the humor in being so tidy πŸ™‚ Can I borrow you for a while? As in my house it is more the other way around, but I can always find things back. πŸ™‚
    I have one tideness-rule, that is that the scissors should be in the drawer, but no one else goes by that rule so it is missing a lot. πŸ™‚

    “I recall
    another room,
    another time,
    the look
    of anguish
    on her face
    when I moved
    the pouffe;
    a relationship
    which died”

    That is more serious, and a bit sad. Wonderful how you can wave humor and sadness in one poem.

    It is great reading your blog again!

    {{{{ big dutch hug }}}}

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile*

      I am not really that tidy Ina, but I do have certain OCD tendencies which I need to laugh at else they could take over.
      And I do think my living space looks ‘lived in’ rather than utra tidy πŸ™‚

      I am laughing out loud at your scissors rule. One of the things about living on my own is that there is no-one else to blame when thongs go missing!! πŸ™‚

      As for humour and sadness in one poem – that’s life methinks

      Good to have you reading my blogs again

      (((Big Irish Hug)))
      David

  10. David,

    I could just see you sigh in this, and accept yourself as is–not a bad deal really. :–) We are all a little OCD–it’s just that some of us are healthy enough to recognize it. People look at order and chaos in different ways. My desk is sometimes cluttered, but I know where everything is and if anyone moves anything, even to put it in order, it feels like chaos to me. On the other hand, some things have to be “just so” in a very orderly fashion–like my art supplies or the dishes in the cabinets. Humans can be very territorial creatures!

    What really touched me in this poem is the gently repressed anger, sadness, regret–maybe covertly expressed in the second stanza (another story). This is more than a reflection on your own OCD–it is a realization of how difficult it can be to deal with similar issues in other people. However, I would have no patience with value placed on anything called a pouffe over the importance of a relationship. Now, if you moved my favorite ottoman….”big grin”.

    Wonderfully reflective write.
    I do hope you are feeling some better.

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Shirley,

      You made me smile out loud with this comment. And I needed to smile this morning!!

      As you rightly say it is healthy to be able to recognise these traits in ourselves and to smile at them – sometimes they help the world go round and sometimes they get in the way!!! πŸ™‚

      And I would never ever move you favourite ottoman!!! I will make no mention of my own arm chair!! πŸ™‚

      Take good care of yourself
      Much love
      David

  11. It’s the little details that make you miss people.

    I love how you zone in on the little details in your poems and give them the meaning that they really have.

Leave a Reply

