Empty Room

The room is empty now,
signs of recent occupation;
tangled sheets, a pair
of knickers by the bed,
a hint of lust still
lingers in the air,

smoke from partially
stubbed cigarette
coils its way
towards the ceiling,
beside the bed, still looking on,
a brown, bedraggled, teddy bear.

33 Responses to “Empty Room”

  1. christine Says:

    This is lovely David! And it has cheered me up.!

    If teddy bears could speak; or maybe they can!!

    Lots of love and a big teddy bear hug

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Snile*

      If teddy bears could speak indeed Christine πŸ™‚

      Big teddy bear hug back to you

      Lots of love
      David
      xxx

  2. Elaine Randall English Says:

    Damned sad….

  3. Open the window!

    I love this one πŸ™‚

    It is as if it was written about how it feels after a child has left home. Maybe that was not what was meant, but somehow it brought that to mind.

    {{{ big dutch hug }}}

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Smile*

      If I opened the window Ina the robin which was on the window sill looking in would fly away πŸ™‚

      The poem was intended to reflect lost innocence so your interpretation makes sense.

      (((Big Irish Hug))) to you

      David

      • I see what you mean. But I just don’t want to see it that way I think, Too sad and real… My interpretation is a safe way out …

      • belfastdavid Says:

        *Smile*

        A poem means what ever it says to the reader Ina πŸ™‚
        What the poet may, or may not, have meant is irrelevant πŸ™‚

      • That is a nice thought, that it is not relevant what the meaning is, maybe that is the difference with prose?

      • belfastdavid Says:

        I hadn’t thought of that, but what you say is almost certainly true

  4. Life! I miss it!! Sad, but lovely!! Hugs!!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Sandy,

      Hugs to you too πŸ™‚

      (that’s twice this morning Sandy — Yippee!! πŸ™‚ )

  5. Beautifully done again, David; it’s very lean and tight, using just a few perfectly-chosen details to paint a vivid and arresting picture – and as the comments attest, it’s both incredibly precise and open to the reader’s own interpretation. Masterly writing, my friend.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Nick,

      I do find that often I learn more about my poems after I have posted them πŸ™‚
      The process is fascinating

      David

  6. David,

    This is a really nice capture of sentiment associated with moving forward from one time / relationship to another. Our warm and safe emotional securities of childhood must be traded up for others with larger responsibilities in their design. And, though there is some amount of sadness associated with such decisions, they are still a necessary part of growing and learning.

    I am reminded of Tikarma’s teddy bear, and of a very special one I used to have. Mine was passed on to Michelle, then Dude, then Nicole. I have recently added him back to my things, where he sits waiting for the next generation–or for me to move back to a younger place in my mind. β€œAnd the seasons, they go round and round.” :–)

    One does wonder how the teddy bears survive. πŸ™‚

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • christine Says:

      Joni Mitchel?

      x

      • Yes. I love that song. I hope you are feeling better, Christine.
        I read your comments sometimes, and you are often in my prayers.

      • christine Says:

        Thank you Shirley. I am learning to accept and manage my condition with David’s great support. He is my rock. It is a slow process.

        Take care

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Shirley,

      I do love your interpretation of this poem. I went back and read it again and can now see in the poem exactly what you mean. Thank you for helping me see that πŸ™‚

      There is something about teddy bears isn’t there πŸ™‚ Your teddy bear could likely tell a story or two “cheeky grin*
      I would tell you to look after him, but I already know you will πŸ™‚

      You take good care of yourself too

      Much love
      David

  7. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Can I have the Teddy bear for comfort?
    πŸ™‚
    very well done!
    wishing you a good weekend coming up!
    with Love
    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile*

      Ah Vera, we all need a teddy bear do we not πŸ™‚

      I am looking forward to a quiet peaceful weekend.
      You and Karley have a good weekend too

      With love
      David

  8. such strong images.. and then the teddy bear.. loved this David!

  9. Hi David,

    Awwwww. That’s the first thing that came to mind.

    The innocence in this piece just really hits you. Maybe it’s because I have Jackie Bear….and then I thought that’s why Jackie’s not allowed in the bedroom. I’m trying to keep one teddy bear innocent and child like *lol*
    I have another who has been with me all my life. He’s seen a lot. I guess like smile lines teddies show their age through thread bare fabric and noses worn and faded.
    The lonliness really creeps in. I’m left wanting to give you a big hug and your teddy too. πŸ™‚
    This is a marvelous poem. You’ve caught a snapshot of emotion in time, so precisely and vividly. We can’t turn back time, innocence is so fleeting and once gone cannot not be re-captured…but I’ve discovered it can be re-kindled. πŸ™‚

    All my best to you for a good weekend!
    Big Bear (((BSH)))
    Arohanui
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Tikarma,

      I have a big smile on my face at the thought of you protecting Jackie Bear and keeping her innocent and therefore unbedraggled I guess πŸ™‚
      (I just made unbedraggled up!! Good word though πŸ™‚ )

      A big hug from you is always appreciated. Some days I feel like an ageing teddy bear – a bit battered and worn round the edges πŸ™‚

      And, on a more serious note I do agree with you totally – innocence can be re-kindled!!

      I hope you and Jackie have a good weekend full of smiles and hugs πŸ™‚

      Arohanui
      (((BSH))
      David
      xoxox

  10. nice descriptive work and can see as the opening for a mystery novel.

  11. Hey David,

    I read this last night but didn’t comment because I wanted to think about it some more after reading some comments. I really like this poem. It’s haunting. I felt like a detective with just those few clues you let me in on. Trying to piece together a story of what went on in that room.Very vivid image in my head of that room. Really cool!

    Cathy

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Cathy,

      I take this comment as a terrific compliment – I am delighted to have set your imagination running πŸ™‚

      Thank you
      David

Leave a Reply

