Purple

I remember the first time I saw purple,
although when I pointed it out to you
you said it was blue. Then you pointed
out to me the colours in a rainbow,
except where you saw blue I saw green.

Purple speaks with a deep-throated,
warm, years-of-smoking sort of sexy growl,
and sings the blues in dark, smokey bars
where the sunlight never penetrates;

like it never penetrates
to the inside of my thigh
where remains a purple bruise;
the legacy you left me with
when you departed.

33 Responses to “Purple”

  1. I get it, and it no longer hurts. πŸ™‚

  2. Elaine Randall English Says:

    I find this immensely interesting…..thanks for sharing it!

  3. What’s to understand, David? You made your point quite well I would say. Purple. It reminds you of the one who left her mark. I liked this effort, man.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      That, Jerry was a meaning I had not thought of

      You are, of course, correct.

      Thank you for dropping in

      David

  4. Ouch! That was a painful seperation! Lovely poem though, the way you express the loss of a romantic relationship. A combination of tragedy and fun, bittersweet maybe? πŸ˜›
    I think you might be a bit colourblind btw?

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile*

      Perhaps bittersweet is catching πŸ™‚

      I am colourblind Ina – in the red/blue spectrum. so purple is a concept for me rather than a seen colour πŸ™‚

      David

  5. christine Says:

    Ina has taken the word “bittersweet” out of my mouth!

    David, this was a lovely surprise. Is it one of the new ones you were telling me about?

    I love it and it feels to me you may have wandered from the strictly David Agnew style here but I may be wrong. That is how it feels to me.

    It’s wonderful and so cleverly done. I am going to say brilliant!!

    Lots of love and hugs

    Christine

    xxx

    • christine Says:

      ps And colourblind you definitely are, but then you already know that!!

      xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      This is one of those new poems Christine.

      And I agree with you – it is not strictly David Agnew style. As you know I am trying to do different thinga – I am always pleased when one of them works. πŸ™‚

      Thank you
      Lots of love and hugs to you too
      David
      xxx

  6. This is beautiful written and deeply felt..a wonderful piece David…Katherine//

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Katherine,

      So deeply felt that I did not know it was there until after I had written the poem πŸ™‚

      David

  7. David,

    This really hums. I enjoyed it very much. That whole bit of light not penetrating areas in darkness and the strands of color. Brilliant!

    Cathy

  8. as an artist, love the metaphorical applications of color and all that imparts — purple is also royalty … and blue blood the traditional monarch. green is fear or illness — and they all fit nicely to widen the picture and view imparted by such a wonderful-write.

    E.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      What a fascinating comment Eileen,

      You have given me a whole new perspective on the poem πŸ™‚

      David

  9. Hi David,

    Ouch! This poem really packs a punch at the end. I love how you used colour to show opposition in perspective.
    I really like the poem despite the kick at the end. Your middle stanza is just gorgeous in it description of purple…despite the pain at the end you’ve woven such a textured piece that I’m smiling nonetheless.

    Love it!

    Best wishes to you for the rest of the week.
    My rainwater tank has arrived *squeels with joy!* That’s made my week! πŸ™‚

    Take good care
    Arohanui
    ((BSH))
    Tikarma
    xxoxoxo

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Wow Tikarma,

      Thank you for this comment *Blushing*

      Perhaps another example of what happens when I get out of the way and drop into the now!!! πŸ™‚
      My Muse write better poems than I do!! πŸ™‚

      And I am smiling at your joy – Does that mean you are now hoping for rain?? πŸ™‚

      You have a really good week

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  10. belfastdavid Says:

    Thank you all for your comments so far.

    What intrigued mw about this poem – It was written in a writing workshop when we were asked to thonk of a colour, any colour, then write our thoughts on that colour. I have no idea why I chose purple and all I was thinking about when I wrote was purple. This poem is what emerged and only after it was written did I stop to think what it meant, or more pertinently, what my Muse was trying to tell me.
    I am still not quite sure!!
    David

  11. What a great exercise – and what a fine poem it inspired, my friend. Your ‘new’ poems seem simple, but there’s great depth, power and complexity here that merits and rewards several re-readings. Really enjoyed it – thank you!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Nick,

      I enjoy going to poetry workshops, although they vary greatly in quality depending on the facilitator. The girl who runs the workshops at the University Art Gallery is very good. She is genuinely interested in what is being written whereas too many facilitators just seem to be going through the motions. This latest workshop was greatly enhanced by the fact that feedback from previous workshops has led to cups of tea being served half way through!! πŸ™‚

      Purple was written after a cup of tea and a shortbread biscuit – Perhaps that is the key!! πŸ™‚

      David

  12. Irish,

    I have to tell you that I read this from my mobile phone yesterday evening, and it has not left my head since! I can’t comment from the phone, and I wouldn’t have anyway. I wanted to actually THINK about my comment. Yes! Me! Thinking about something I have to say before I say it! *sheepish grin*

    You went out of your comfort zone here, or you were led out by either your muse or your Irish roots (wonderful story tellers, the Irish!). What I hope I am seeing is that you not only like it there, but you have painted the walls, built a lounge, and purchased a deed to the property. *BIG SMILE*

    I know you are color blind, and that fact makes the use of the color purple so poignant in this poem. The color, like the emotion, is something you can’t quite grasp, but you long for a way to touch it and understand how it fits into your life. Several people have found a word to describe the emotion you associate with this. Maybe they are right, or close. But, I cannot find a word deep enough to express that place because I have been there myself, and it is far too complex for one word.

    I know this poem is about more than color, but I was reminded of something when I first read it. When you told me (2006?!) that you are color blind, I had never thought about people who live with that before. I was left with the sense that maybe you saw it as something missing in your life, like my deafness in my left ear. But, you see a world I cannot see, and I hear things in a way you cannot hear them–well, maybe thatβ€˜s not completely true as I think you told me you are deaf in your right ear. But, you know my meaning. This makes us both not less, but more dimensional. I remember that after I talked to you, I went out for a walk and tried to imagine the colors around me the way you see them. I decided it would be beautiful.

    And purple can be the color of healing.

    Much love to you,
    (((BIG WARM SOUTHERN HUGS)))
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Shirley,

      What a wonerful comment – Thank you.

      I shall say nothing about you thinking before you speak “Big Grin* But waht you had to say when you did say it was certainly worth listening to – you have made me think too πŸ™‚

      I guess in the early days of my poetry writing a great number of my poems came straight from somewhere inside directly to the page – often surprising me when they arrived πŸ™‚
      More latterly I think I have become comfortable with what constitutes a “David Agnew” poem and have therefore slipped into a comfort zone. Trying new things would appear to have taken me back to those earlier days – This poem surprised me when it emerged and I find myself enjoying that experience again πŸ™‚

      I still don’t fully understand what the poem is saying to me – the emotion is either too complex, as you suggest, or too ephemeral to grasp.
      So I will continue to try to stretch myself as I am enjoying the experience πŸ™‚

      That is not to say there will be no more “David Agnew” poems – I have two on the go at the moment!!!

      And I have come to the conclusion you suggest – that the way I see the world is the way I see the world – and it is beautiful!!!

      And I love that “purple can be the colour of healing” πŸ™‚

      You take good care of yourself
      With much love
      (((Big Irish Warm Hug)))
      Irish

  13. We had a black and white tv when I was a kid…nevertheless, when I watched it I saw colors…makes me think it’s all a product of imagination…we paint the world however we see fit…

  14. I love this David, great descriptions and powerful closing.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Maria,

      Good to have you drop by.
      Let me know how you get on with the stopping smoking πŸ™‚

      David

  15. David, the images are powerful yet sad. It is difficult when someone who was there leaves us.

    Yet there is someone out there if we are open enough to let them in. Lea

Leave a Reply

