Chance Encounter

Hello she said
taking off her glasses.
I recognized her face
but from where or when
or in what context
I had no idea.

Have you lost weight?
she asked. We chatted,
how she was, how I was,
what we were doing,
then went down separate
aisles in the supermarket.

I had not been able
to bring myself to ask
where I knew her from
and so, three days later,
I find myself
still wondering.

20 Responses to “Chance Encounter”

  1. Hi David,

    *LOL* I can very much relate to this. I think everyone is bound to have this happen at some point in their life. It’s frustrating.
    Jamie is constantly needing to be reminded who someones name is.
    I on the hand suffer from single minded focus. For me it’s more like three days later someone will run into me again and say “Didn’t you see me! I called out your name!” Alas I didn’t see them nor hear a thing…I come across as snobby when really I’m just lost in my own little world trying desperately not to forget something. πŸ™‚
    I hope you eventually find out who you were talking to. πŸ™‚

    I really enjoyed this poem. It’s always good to start my day with a smile and a chuckle.

    Wishing you all the best for a lovely weekend
    Take good care.
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xxxoxo

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Tikarma,

      You have me chuckling – More and more I seem to be suffering from your problem – people come up to me later and tell me they spoke to me or waved to me and I just ignored them!! In my case this seems to be mostly younger attractive women!!!! I could worry about myself LOL

      Delighted to give you a chuckle to start your day πŸ™‚

      I hope you too have a good weekend. I have a poetry workshop to attend tomorrow – looking forward to that (one of the things I do at workshops is write everyones name down when they introduce themselves at the beginning!!! πŸ™‚ )

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  2. I have had this happen! loved this…(smiling!)

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I suspect it is a common occurance Katherine πŸ™‚

      Is that how you spell occurance? πŸ™‚

      David

  3. You have the talent to make every day life an adventure in your poems:) This sounds very familiair, happens to me often where I live, as people know me and talk about all kinds of stuff that should ring bells and meanwhile I have no clue who they are. Maybe because I am legally blind lol. (nearsighted ) But have you considered the possibility that it was her mistake? πŸ™‚ After all she had glasses she took off…

    Lovely poem! Thanks for a smile in the morning!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Ina,

      Every day life is an adventure is it not, or at least it is more entertaining if treated like that :).
      I am smiling too at your conversations with people you do not recognise. Strange is it not how we are able to carry on perfectly reasonable conversations in that fashion πŸ™‚
      I have remembered since who she is and where I know her from – but her name still escapes me!!! πŸ™‚

      You are the third person to tell me they smiled this morning – I am delighted

      Take care
      David

      • One day you will be doing something like stuffing poultry (or what is it you British do to food, I just remember what’s his face, mr Bean and the Christmas turkey) and in a flash: there it is, the name!
        πŸ™‚ Have a nice time at the workshop! I wish we had them here.

      • belfastdavid Says:

        *Big Smile*

        Perhaps Ina a view of British food preparation based on Mr Bean might be slightly skewed πŸ™‚ But we do stuff poultry, although nobody does it as well as my mother used to do πŸ™‚

        But yes, memory can work like that. I have a friend who envisages her memory as loads and loads of shelves (like a library) with little men running up and down ladders to try to retrieve the information πŸ™‚ I suspect, in my case, some of the shelves have gone missing!!

        I do thoroughly enjoy good poetry workshops – they do provoke the Muse into action πŸ™‚

  4. Thank you for a lovely start to the day, David – taking these seemingly inconsequential events and encounters and giving them depth and drama is the stuff true poetry is made of. Loved it.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Nick,

      There are a lot more “seemingly inconsequential events” in our lives than there are dramas and I always reckon I am in a good place when I am awake enough to notice them!! πŸ™‚

      David

  5. This is funny. Did you ever think maybe you know her from the supermarket? That would be cool. The reason you don’t remember anyone is because your head is fully submerged in the clouds thinking of poetry. No wonder you don’t know who anybody is πŸ™‚ Cheers! Really enjoyed it.

    Cathy

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile*,

      My head is indeed often in that place Cathy – it is a good place to be. Much better than having it up my own backside!!! πŸ™‚

      David

      • Now wouldn’t it be funny if it was just someone pulling a joke! πŸ˜€ Unless of course she knew details of your life, then she obviously could not have been a stranger.

      • belfastdavid Says:

        *Smile*

        Ah, we did know each other Susan – it was my memory which was faulty!! πŸ™‚

        David

  6. David,

    This is a unique subject for poetry, but it is one which can be universally understood, and you have done well by it.

    I have been in the same situation many times. I have a good memory for faces, but names go in one ear and out the other.

    Funny story: Richard seems to know everyone! Regardless of where we go, he either recognizes someone or they recognize him. A while back, we ran into a couple who seemed delighted to see him. They called his name, they called my name, they seemed to know us very well. Richard, being the born politician, greeted them enthusiastically and warmly. β€œCome and see me!β€œ he shouted as they walked away. When they were well out of earshot, I asked Richard who they were. “I don’t know.” he answered. πŸ™‚

    Take care of yourself.
    Much love,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Shirley,

      I shall be chuckling for the rest of the day – I love Richard’s ability to do that πŸ™‚

      The other thing which throws me is meeting someone out of context or,if we normally see them in uniform, out of uniform. I once met a nurse in the fish and chip shop and said “I nearly didn’t recognise you with your clothes on!” She knew what I meant, but we did get some funny looks πŸ™‚

      You take care of yourself too
      Much Love
      David

  7. christine Says:

    Hi David
    It is good to be back even though I am feeling rubbish!

    It’s great to see this up here, time has passed since you wrote it so I didn’t think it was going to appear.

    I think this must have happened to most people, it has certainly happened to me. I wish I could have been a fly on the wall to see the busyness (I’m questioning that word!!) that was going on beyond your face as I am sure you looked perfectly calm on the outside as the men were scuttling up and down those ladders!

    This is great.

    Lots of love amd a big hug

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Christine,

      Good to have you back. If anyone would know about the “busyness” of those men on their ladders it is surely yourself!! πŸ™‚

      You look after yourself

      Big hug and lots of love to you too

      David
      xxx

  8. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    I am at a total disadvantage in this (visually). Unless I know someone well, I have no way of knowing who they are. My husband was very good in supplying me with the needed info, but well, “I’m a big girl now” πŸ™‚ and am hopeless at spotting or recognizing anyone. Most people talk to Karley though and if they turn to me, I just smile and take the encounter as it finds me.

    I enjoyed your poem!!

    wishing you a good week,
    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      You leave me smiling Vera with the way you make light of your disadvantage.

      Would that I more often would “just smile and take the encounter as if finds me” πŸ™‚
      There could be a poem in that phrase methinks πŸ™‚

      I hope you and Karley have a good week too
      David

Leave a Reply

