First I Dreamt the Journey – Part 14 – Solitude

Amidst this ebb and flow I became aware that there were of periods of solitude, either forced or sought deliberately. Aware that periods of solitude were the result of choices I had made, decisions I had taken along the way.

It was necessary for me to make a different relationship with solitude. Previously solitude had been experienced as darkness; as aloneness. It is certainly a place where familiar shapes dissolve.

By accepting this I can make different use of solitude. I can decide whether it is to be a lonely place or a place alone, a place of sloth or of creation, a place of deep regret or of reflection.

In reconstructing my interaction with solitude I became aware also that I was making a different relationship with time. Previously solitude had appeared to stretch before me like an eternity. This did not have to be the case.

I can snatch five minutes of solitude in the midst of a busy day and use it to reflect and renew, thus emerging restored as if after a period of long, deep sleep.

I can slow down or speed up time such that long periods of solitude become productive, constructive and appear to have flashed by, often catching me by surprise in the process.

It is easy to choose periods of solitude and to use them in this fashion. Yet when solitude appears enforced we lose sight of that perspective. We can stand in a crowd and feel totally alone or we can suddenly find ourselves on our own when we did not expect it. Solitude in those circumstances can appear black, can appear frightening.

And yet if we are capable of manufacturing changed relationships with solitude and with time when we choose solitude then we have proven we have the ability to do that. We must choose to use that ability.

Audio Version available at http://youtube.com/user/DavidAgnewpoet

15 Responses to “First I Dreamt the Journey – Part 14 – Solitude”

  1. christine Says:

    I think solitude is a beautiful word. This may sound a bit strange but whenever I hear or see the word I visualise a swan enjoying its own company on still water.

    For me solitude is a positive word; the other side of the coin I interpret as loneliness. And I had much of this during my drinking years. It is indeed good to be able to wander into solitude where I can reflect, meditate or simply be.

    However I do have to treat the word with respect. I see solitude as a gift but I am capable of becoming so comfortable with my own company that I could easily set up home there, furnished very cosily, candles, aromatic oils. It beckons.

    As for most things in life I see here that balance is necessary to keep my visits into solitude healthy.

    Lots of love and a hug

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Christine,

      Methinks there is a poem in your reply πŸ™‚

      Wonderful word – Balance. Wonderful concept – Balance.
      We just have to accept I guess that the see-saw is never perfectly level – but that should never put us off trying to make it so! πŸ™‚

      Lots of love and a big hug
      David
      xxx

      • christine Says:

        David, you know me far too well!!!! *big grin*
        I was just about to email you a poem which arose out of this post. Then I thought I would pass by here first. Email on its way!
        xxx

      • belfastdavid Says:

        *Smile*

        I look forward to enjoying how the poem will evolve

        xxx

  2. David,

    I like that you put yourself in the video this time. Good to see you smiling!
    Solitude is very important to me. I like what Christine said about the potential for becoming too comfortable with just your own company. I think I have been there a few times. I’m lucky I don’t talk to myself. πŸ™‚
    People who are comfortable with their solitude are more likely to be at peace with themselves.
    For myself, placing value on my time alone does not hinder me from enjoying the company of others. Rather, it seems to enable me to be more selective about whose company I seek. If thinking of them disrupts my solitude in a disturbing manner, they are soon gone.
    Good writing. Good video. Much enjoyed.

    Much love to you,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Shirley,

      I have pre-recorded the next five sections of the book so I will be in those videos as well – quite what I will do with the sections of the book in which the Beautiful Fairy is speaking I am not quite sure yet πŸ™‚

      I agree totally with your thoughts on solitude. For myself I just have to be careful that I don’t cross the line into isolation – it can be a temptation at times. *wry smile*

      Do send me that email to let me know how you are.
      Take care of yourself

      Much Love
      David

      • I am okay. No worries. Thank you for asking. I’m looking forward to several trips this summer, and to my class reunion in August, and I certainly am taking care of myself. Hope you are well.

        I look forward to the rest of your book blogs/videos.

        Much (friendly) love to you,
        Shirley

  3. Solitude is a part of life, nothing scary, not possitive nor negative. Lonelyness is negative. In order to become the person you want to be, you need to be alone to reflect. Hope I got that right πŸ™‚

    Shall I watch the video or do you like the solitude more πŸ˜›

    • belfastdavid Says:

      πŸ™‚ You have got that right Ina. Without taking time out to reflect our life will gradually spin out of control.

      Do watch the video – let me know what you think πŸ™‚

      Take care
      David

      • I just watched it and it was very nice to see how you read πŸ™‚
        I see we are halfway through the book now. It is an amazing journey πŸ™‚

        Taking care πŸ™‚ and wishing you well.

      • belfastdavid Says:

        Thank you Ina,

        We are about halfway through now and I find I am enjoying the process. I don’t really enjoy recording myself, but having started that process I guess I need to continue πŸ™‚

        My very best to you.

        On days like these I envy your proximity to the sea

        David

  4. Katherine Says:

    Another piece filled with wisdom my friend.. yes..

  5. Yes, at first solitude was a dark loneliness to me; now though still lonely at times, it is a breathing space, a time for renewal!! Hugs, David!!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      What a lovely comment – Thank you Sandy.

      You are so right – solitude is no longer to be feared. Used properly it restores us.

      ((Big Hug))
      David

Leave a Reply

