Hotel Dining Room

The lady at the next table for dinner,
somewhat on the largish side,
responds to my Good Evening,
waits for her husband to get seated,
then sends him back to their room

for a magazine, from which
she proceeds to read,
out loud, with comments,
recipes for desserts and cakes.

I pass on my sweet course,
glad to get away.
Clearly largish
has not been achieved
by accident.

18 Responses to “Hotel Dining Room”

  1. lol She could have done with the excersize maybe. But it is sweet he fixed her that magazine? I bet he stays slim this way šŸ™‚

    I have an aunt like that, she was waited on hand and feet by her husband, but she is the nicest person ever I think. They just had this habbit in their marriage to take care of each other like that. šŸ™‚ Which is good?

    Lovely poem šŸ™‚

    • belfastdavid Says:

      šŸ™‚ Thank you Ina,

      He was certainly considerably thinner than she was!!!!

      And I am quite sure their relationship worked for them šŸ™‚
      I wouldn’t have noticed really except her voice was loud enough to carry to me at the next table šŸ™‚

  2. christine Says:

    Oh this is really good, so carefully written too.

    Your people watching can give you endless material!
    Another fond memory of your latest Whitby trip.

    Desert may have been bread and butter pudding! But maybe not to die for *smile*

    lots of love ( and hug)

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Christine,

      I do get endless pleasure out of people watching šŸ™‚

      If the sweet choices had included bread and butter pudding I might have persuaded myself to stay šŸ™‚

      Lots of love and a hug
      David
      xxx

  3. LOL there are so many LARGISH folks, here in the South; Loved this David!! Hugs!!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      It was one of the things my son commented on after his first visit to America Sandy – LARGE PEOPLE – all wearing shorts!!!! šŸ™‚

      Hugs to you too

      David

  4. I think this is a term I do not know here in the States… but the moment you have captured brilliantly…loved it!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Katherine,

      There are so many moments in life if we are aware enough to notice them šŸ™‚

  5. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Neatly done,
    – though not an enjoyable situation,
    still, noticing “characters” is a good way
    to enrich the repertoire šŸ™‚

    Wishing you a good week,
    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Vera,

      I do enjoy observing people – the human race fascinates me šŸ™‚

      I hope your weather is conducive to good weaving. We have moved back towards winter these last few days – wet and windy!!

      My best wishes
      David

  6. Nice little slice, no pun intended.

  7. LOL. Beautifully observed and (unlike the lady in question) delicately constructed.

  8. Some people just have routines, and they never seem to be able to escape them. Still, I think it would be a rude invasion of personal time to interrupt a meal for something so trivial, not to mention forcing other people in the room to listen to a read aloud from some magazine they might not consider entertaining. A dining room is for meals, and maybe pleasant conversation, like a bedroom is for sleeping and maybe pleasant interactions. It’s one of those times when you set the rest of the world outside the door and enjoy what you came to do.
    That said, your poem is well written and I can identify with the frustration expressed.

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      You are generous Shirley to the lady concerned – it felt like an invasion of my personal space, took away from my enjoyment of my own meal.

      Meals can certainly about pleasant conversation – one of the reasons I detest too loud music in restaurants. and don’t get me started on the subject of mobile phones!!! šŸ™‚

      I guess in a lot of ways the same applies to bedrooms šŸ™‚

      Much love

      David

  9. Ha! Clearly not. Thanks for the smile. Nicely wrought poem, David.

Leave a Reply

