People Watching

I see two elderly gentlemen
play up the fairway through the mist;
more ritual than enjoyment perhaps.
Then wonder why I think of them
as elderly; they may not be
much older than myself.

I pass a middle-aged couple
on a bench, faces close,
his arm behind her shoulders,
she looks into his eyes,
they talk and talk and talk.

On the next bench,
a young couple
sit side by side,
each communicating
with an electronic device.

Older couples pass by,
they have clearly
been together for a long time.
They are doing things together
but they are not together;
one of them is in charge,
usually she, but sometimes he.

Other couples of a similar age,
presumably in a second relationship;
they walk hand in hand, slowly,
savouring each moment of their time.

Couples, young and not so young,
arms around each other
who do not care
that the glow in her eyes,
the smirk on his face
betray their activity just before
they set out to walk the pier.

And others, like myself,
sit quietly, smiling,
enjoying the stories
which people-watching tell.

25 Responses to “People Watching”

  1. Aw, I love this one. Hope someone will join you on the pier so you can be a couple too πŸ™‚

  2. Enjoyed this David.

  3. Elaine Randall English Says:

    Nice….wish I were there watching too….or somewhere watching….

  4. Excellent post thanks for sharing. I enjoy reading and writing poems very much. It’s very relaxing. Thanks again.

    An Easter Poem

  5. christine Says:

    This is lovely. I enjoyed it even more when you read it to me, as I said I could have listened to lots more.

    And yes, this is definitely a David Agnew poem and in my book that can only be a good thing.

    I will be only too pleasesd to stand with you on the pier. We have done it before, we can do it again, even if it involves a wheel chair, who knows. *smile*

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Christine,

      I would be delighted to accompany you on Whitby pier – we can enjoy people-watching together – we have done that before too πŸ™‚

      Lots of love

      David

  6. Beautifully constructed, with just the right balance of observed detail, conjecture and imagination. The image of the two young people ‘each communicating with an electronic device’ made me smile – and I love the picture of the couple ‘doing things together, but [they are] not together’. A little moment out of life, yet completely immersed in it – I think this is great.

  7. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Nice poem, David!
    Lots of stories, just watching people, – I am always fascinated by faces!
    and if there is one thing the new generation will be known to excel in, it’s that they know which buttons to press πŸ™‚

    Wish you a good week,

    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile*

      I am not sure which buttons the young couple I saw were pressing – probably each others – they did not look happy πŸ™‚

      We still have the warm weather here – I might try to get out to the bluebell woods today.

      You have a good week too – I hope the weaving is going well and I am plesed you enjoyed that link.

      David

  8. I really enjoyed this poem. People watching is one of my favorite things to do. I haven’t done it in a while been too busy. My favorite spot is in Greenwich Village in Manhattan, breadth and depth of humanity, a feast for the eyes and psyche. Really lovely.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Cathy,

      I have never been to Greenwich Village but I know what you mean – one of my favourite people watching spots used to be Starbucks in the station in Leeds – Until they banned smoking on the station!!!

  9. Peter Doyle Says:

    I could see it all David…

  10. Right with you all the way, including the questioning myself when I consider others “elderly!” Ha! Well written and well observed. Nice, David!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Big πŸ™‚

      We never want to believe we are getting older do we Jamie. Particularly when we do not feel it. πŸ™‚

  11. A huge smile for this one!! I love to people watch, although sometimes it leaves a sadness.. Also, funny how I sometimes think people old, when they are probably my age.. Age, I guess, is a matter of mind!! Hugs, David!!

  12. David,

    This is very good.

    You know that I am a people watcher. What poet isn’t? *grin*

    If I were walking along the shore, or the pier, I would most likely pause, look ahead, and wonder to myself; “Now what do you suppose that studious, good looking Irishman is thinking?” *Big smile*

    Much love,
    Shirley

Leave a Reply

