Don’t you just hate it when…..

the ice cream is finished
before you reach
the bottom of the cone,

the phone rings just after
you have poured milk
onto your Weetabix,

you catch a glimpse
of yourself naked, in profile,
in a full-length mirror,

the person you were going
to ride off into the sunset with
rides off with somebody else,

you turn over in bed for a hug
and only then remember
you are sleeping on your own.

30 Responses to “Don’t you just hate it when…..”

  1. Yes, to all of the above!!! Especially the last one!!! Hugs David!!

  2. πŸ™‚ You’re on a roll, my friend. I love the way you move seamlessly from life’s little annoyances to its great tragedies; the simplicity of the language keeps it all very grounded and ‘real’. There’s a wry smile and a gentle tug at the heart in every stanza; I think this is super, David.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Nick,

      I had a lot of fun putting this one together and then wondering if I should put the stanzas in reverse order πŸ™‚

      • The final stanza is harder hitting emotionally and therefore has a strong case for being last. Though the ice cream one makes for a good metaphor! πŸ™‚

      • belfastdavid Says:

        Oh I do think the poem has to be that way round Paul.

        But read in reverse order it has a different impact πŸ™‚

  3. christine Says:

    You already know I love this poem. It has that sad tinge at the end but I know you are not actually in a sad place.
    I have to agree with goncycling when he says how you seemlessly travel “from life’s little annoyances to its great tragedies”.

    And yes I do hate it when the ice cream is finished before the cone! It is possible to become quite skilled at blowing on the ice cream periodically so that as you go down the ice cream can be there at the very end!! This takes a lot of practice but it’s worth it!

    Lots of love

    And the biggest hug

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big, Big Smile*

      Do you know I have lived this long and never knew about blowing on my ice cream – a wonderful skill which I shall have to practise.
      This might mean I have to eat a lot of ice cream – oh dear, how sad, what a pity πŸ™‚

      Lots of love
      And a hug

      David
      xxx

  4. Elaine Randall English Says:

    aaaarrrrgggghhhhhh……..don’t you just hate it when you forget what you hate?

  5. David,

    I remember biting the bottom from the cone so I could suck the melted ice cream out of it. *grin* Did you do that?

    I hate, really hate, all of the things you hate in this poem. The cereal could also be a hot bowl of soup, or a just-run bath.

    My bed is a queen size. Yes, it does get much wider some nights. “sigh” But, nobody pulls my covers off while I’m sleeping. πŸ™‚

    You ARE on a roll, and it is delightful to watch (read)!

    Go out and take some Spring pictures!

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Shirley,

      What with Christine blowing on her ice cream and you biting the bottom from the cone I am learning so many important things πŸ™‚
      Walking on the pier eating ice cream could be a very messy experience!! πŸ™‚

      And nobody pulls my covers off either!! πŸ™‚

      I will get out with my camera this week

      Much Love

      David

  6. I love Elaine’s comment. That’s what Spring does to us Southerners! How can you hate anything when everything around you is covered in a soft cloud of pastel blooms?!

  7. Don’t you love it when poems make you smile? πŸ™‚

  8. lol…indeed! Reminds me a bit of Alanis Morrisette’s..isn’t it ironic! loved this!

  9. I really do hate all of those occurrences. Well said!

  10. very human ….. think what makes it bearable is the smiles behind the tears. something like that.

    much enjoyed πŸ™‚

    • belfastdavid Says:

      “Something like that” is just what it is.

      Not taking myself too seriously is what keeps me human πŸ™‚

  11. “Will you still need me, will you still feed me
    when I’m sixty-four?”…

  12. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Very good!
    and isn’t it nice “when you hate it …” and we all like it πŸ™‚

    Have a nice weekend!

    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      God forbid Vera that I should ever take myself too seriously πŸ™‚

      Our weather is well into spring now so it is easy to relax and enjoy.

      I hope you and Karley are well and that the weaving is going forward.

      Love
      David

  13. Especially number 3!

  14. Yes! Ditto all that. πŸ™‚ ‘Tis life.

Leave a Reply

