Voyeurs

I discovered two seagulls
staring in the window
as I stood naked
drying off after a shower.

I did not think
they were impressed,

but
they turned up
the next day
for another look.

This poem was written about this time last year when I was in Whitby.

I am going again next week for a few days.

I will take 3 books, a writing pad, some pens and my camera.
My laptop can stay at home.

26 Responses to “Voyeurs”

  1. LOL πŸ™‚ Yes, I noticed in England bathrooms sometimes have no curtains πŸ™‚

    They did come back! Must have been impressive somehow?

    What books will you take with you?

    • I forgot to say I loved the poem πŸ™‚

    • belfastdavid Says:

      πŸ™‚

      I will take –

      A poetry anthology – Being Human – the companion anthology to Staying Alive and Being Alive – and just published this month
      Trick of the Dark – the latest book by Val McDermid – just released in paperback this month
      And because those two were on a 3 for 2 offer I also got The Snowman by Jo Lesbo. I have never heard of Jo Lesbo before but because I got it for free then I thought it was worth a try.

      • I trust them to be good companions πŸ™‚ I know a place in Whitby of which I am convinced you have never been. Want a bet? :

        There is a pub in the centre , steep street, and there they have a ladies, the walls painted in totally pink (in the fifties I reckon.) πŸ˜›

      • belfastdavid Says:

        They will be good companions – I am saving them until I get there – except for occasional dips into the poetry book πŸ™‚

        You are right – I have never been inside the ladies in a pub in Whitby LOL

  2. And I swear I saw those seagulls there as well!

  3. Sandy (Seeker of Truth) Says:

    Thanks for the smile!! Such a marvelous piece!!! Hugs David, and enjoy your holiday!!

  4. christine Says:

    Have a lovely break.

    Your companions for reading sound jus pSt perfect.

    When you are at the cafe have some egg on toast for me too.

    Next time you go to Whitby I would love to be in a position to accompany you.

    Say hi to the herring gulls (!) from me, and have a walk past where our magic restaurant was.

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    PS Maybe you would bring me back a pebble from the beach. xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Christine,

      I will have some egg on toast, with perhaps some bacon to accompany it πŸ™‚

      I will consult with the herring gulls and select an appropriate pebble πŸ™‚

      You would be most welcome to join me in Whitby. I will bring back some photos of places to remember πŸ™‚

      Lots of love
      David
      xxx

  5. A very amusing poem David. Enjoy Whitby & the creative fruits thereof. I’ll be back in Eire commemorating St. Patirkc’s Day, for sure (:

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Delighted to see you could make it here Jeff.

      Thank you

      I will enjoy Whitby. You enjoy St. Patrick’s Day πŸ™‚

  6. Katherine Wyatt Says:

    beautiful David.. have a wonderful trip!

  7. This made me laugh, David – and I needed that today! Question is; were they the same seagulls the next day? Or had word just got round?!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Ah, I hadn’t thought of that Nick.
      But I suspect the Whitby seagulls are inveterate gossips, so perhaps word had got round πŸ™‚

  8. Hi David,
    I thoroughly enjoyed the laugh this poem gave the first time I read it and it still makes me laugh reading here this morning. πŸ™‚

    The gossiping nature of gulls you’ve captured perfectly. I wonder sometimes who is more amused us by them or them by us. πŸ™‚

    I’m so glad you are getting some time to spend at Whitby. I hope you have a most wonderful time and also enjoy your reading. They sound like very absorbing books.
    Don’t forget to give the herring gulls something to gossip about *cheeky grin* May the muse and some sunshine be with you as you capture the views of Whitby.
    I’ll be thinking of you looking out over the harbour as I continue to draw. πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoox

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Tikarma,

      πŸ™‚ It is one of my own favourite Whitby poems – kind of captures the mood Whitby often invokes in me. πŸ™‚

      I have been feeling the need of a break recently – being somewhat tetchy for no good reason – and I know Whitby will restore my equilibrium. πŸ™‚

      I will have a word with the gulls and ask them what gossip they have to tell me!! πŸ™‚

      I will stand above the harbour and contemplate what it would be like to sit there and to draw it and I certainly hope to have some pictures and some poems to share on my return πŸ™‚

      You take good care and enjoy your drawing.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  9. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Thanks for the laugh! πŸ™‚
    and have a great holiday!!! I look forward to your photos and musings when you come back!
    Wishing you good weather too,

    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Vera,

      Photos and musings will be posted on my return together with some thoughts from the herring gulls πŸ™‚

      I hope you and Karley have a good week too

      David

  10. David,

    I remember this, and it still makes me smile. It illustrates your ability to put yourself into another form and mind frame so you are able to observe the world, and yourself, from a different angle. That is what poets do best.
    Maybe they remember you from earlier, and they are suspicious you have fish and chips hidden under that towel.
    I hope you enjoy your trip.

    Much love,
    Shirley

  11. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words Says:

    I like this view of some creature viewing you …
    I always wonder they what are thinking when they stop to pause and observe humans,
    yours must have kept thinking since they came back…
    Thank you for the smile this morning David…
    I appreciate it
    Take Care…you Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

Leave a Reply

