Memories

The world is ever changing
but some things remain the same,
are unaffected by the passage
of either tide or time.

We live on in memory
of those whose lives we’ve touched
and sometimes, when we need it,
they tell us what that means.

I cannot ask, request, demand
what memory you hold.
I can but live my life today
and hope that it’s worthwhile.

And, better still, remember
those who live on in me
and not forget to take the time
to thank those memories.

43 Responses to “Memories”

  1. Hi David, what pleasure to find you in the rally!

    So this was the poem you mentioned, it is just perfect. You have it so in you to say the right words!

    “I cannot ask, request, demand
    what memory you hold.”

    Somehow I think the way we will be remembered, is the way we were to others. It is up to them to decide how, you are so right.

    Some will always be dear even though they are not here anymore.

    Great entry for the rally as well. You rock!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Ina,

      I have, up to now, resisted the rally, largely because I was never sure I would have time to read enough poems to be able to comment on 18 of them. But today, which is uniformly grey outside my window, there was no attraction to go out other than to buy a paper so I thought I would give it a go. I am enjoying the process so far although there is still a way to go 🙂

      Thank you

      • Yes 18 seems a lot 🙂
        Grey weather, a good reason to stay home! It is freezing here at the moment btw brrr.

      • belfastdavid Says:

        I am getting there Ina, and enjoying it. Although it does take time 🙂

        We had snow here yesterday!!! But all gone again today 🙂

  2. indeed….we hold their memories in our hearts keeping them alive hoping we live our lives in ways that we will be remembered and held up well when we move on

  3. agree with your sentiments here.

    masterfully penned, welcome to poets rally…

    let us know after you are done 18 commenting, start with the ones near your own entries first.

    Cheers.

  4. “And, better still, remember / those who live on in me” … beautiful sentiment. reminds me of part of an old poem … ‘”I live through others’ memories. / In their mind, in their soul, / My place is in their heart.”

    Beautifully touching poem.

  5. A beautiful blank verse. I love the meter and timing.

  6. ah yes!! memories 😀

    they are so precious 🙂

  7. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    This poem gives me a lovely warm feeling!
    Very well done!
    Hope your day did get brighter
    and best wishes for the rally!

    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Vera,

      My day did get brighter and I think I may have a poem out of it – to be posted a bit later 🙂

      I hope you and Karley have a good week

      David

  8. Hi David,

    This is a most beautiful poem. It touches my heart deeply. Memories are one of our greatest treasures I feel. Taking the time to be greatful for them is something I’ve only recently learnt is a most valuable thing to do when we can and this poem certainly reminds of why that is so.

    Thankyou for sharing such a warm and lovely poem.
    I hope the weather has brightened up for you and you have enjoyed the rally. 🙂

    Arohanui
    ((BSH))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Tikarma,

      When I take the time to stop and look at the bigger picture I have so much to be grateful for. 🙂
      I do well to remember that when the niggles of the every day are creeping in!!! 🙂

      We are having typical British weather this week – snow one day, rain the next 🙂 But I think I got a poem out of yesterday’s snow. 🙂

      I am looking forward to your next blog

      Take care
      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  9. This is lovely, David. I’m glad you decided to give the rally a try–I enjoyed this very much.

    Some memories I am grateful for, some others, well…

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you,

      I am enjoying the rally – I am getting to read a lot of poets I would not otherwise have come across.

      and thank you for “some other memories, well….” You made me smile 🙂

  10. As we travel through life we touch the lives of all we meet. A part of them remain with you, and a part of you is left there. In the process we grow in new directions, compiling memories. Thanks for sharing your poem.

  11. Have I seen this before David? It sounds familiar.

    Some things certainly do stay unaffected by tide or time, a fact I have learned over the past few months. And that particular aspect of my life just gets richer, and I, in turn, would like to think that my experience of this remains a valuable memory.

    I think we all want to be remembered well by those around us. All I think we can do is be as honest as we can, keep doing the next right thing and be content within ourselves. The rest is out of our control.

    A lovely surprise to come back to, thank you!

    lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      You have seen it before Christine,

      It is from my latest book – Belfast via Bedlam – a poem I am pleased with.

      Memories can keep us warm in times of apparent emptiness. And, although we have no control over what others think of us, there are some in our lives who’s opinion matters (My son for instance). One of the guiding principles of my sobriety was what he would think if he knew.
      I must give him a ring. 🙂

      Lots of love

      David
      xxx

  12. there is great depth to this and a way of life that is sacred…we never really know the lives we touched, but we can live each day to touch a few…

  13. very lovely !! Happy rally!!

  14. This poem was the perfect thing for me to read at this time. I have been spending a lot of (enjoyable) time working on my upcoming class reunion, and I have been in contact with friends I haven’t seen in forty years!

    Some memories teach us lessons, others make us smile, some make us sad. But the best memories warm our hearts. Those are the ones worth visiting again. I have a good store of those.

    This is one of my favorites, and I love the form.

    Much enjoyed,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I am aware Shirley, from Facebook, how much effort you are putting into the reunion. And I know you well enough to understand how much pleasure you will be getting from that. In fact you are probably enjoying the process as much as you will enjoy the event. 🙂

      We all do well to keep that store of the memories which warm our hearts. I have a good store of those too 🙂

      Thank you
      David

  15. such a large part of who we are … what we remember. think i tend to curse it more than thank it, though *smiles*

  16. Beautiful. Thank you.

  17. Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have been part of poets rally in the year of 2011,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rally today if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

