Some Days

Out of bed
two mugs of tea
two cigarettes
morning tablets
have a bath
wash my hair
then shave
decide
what to wear
get dressed.

Tired now
best sit down
have a rest.

 

27 Responses to “Some Days”

  1. Great words arranged so very well! Sounds like me, sans cigarettes. 😉

  2. lol Well that is why you should drink coffee instead of tea, and have a shower instead of a bath? Glad to see you did have the energy to write this nice reflecting (?) poem 🙂 And I envy you for having a bathtub btw.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      🙂 My muse sprung this poem on me while I was sat in the bath tub! as if to say – Come on, come on get out of the bath and get it written!!

      She is prone to do things like that 🙂

      I would sorely miss a bath tub if I did not have one – one of life’s luxuries

      • That is what I like about holidays – the bath 🙂
        Maybe you need a notepad in the bathroom? Or a secretary to write it down 🙂 Always handy for a sponge bath?

      • belfastdavid Says:

        LOL

        Don’t encourage me Ina – a secretary in the bathroom – I might get nothing written!!! Ever 🙂

  3. lol enjoyed this Inlong for days of siting down and resting n

  4. She has certainly returned in style!

    Brilliant! (Oops, sorry!)

    lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      🙂 My muse likes to hear “Brilliant” from time to time Christine!!

      She is certainly in good form at the moment

      Lots of love
      David
      xxx

  5. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Oh David!
    Glad you were not too tired to write it! 🙂
    How about a cat instead of a secretary? It would not get near your
    bathroom, but you’d have someone to smile at you afterwards …
    Yes, we have a cat, Karley doesn’t mind, – she looks all blase and ignores both of us, while “Niddy” comes for a morning pat and purr …

    Seriously though, it doesn’t matter if you have a rest, It’s one of the privileges of getting on in life that we do not have to hurry!! unless we want to … Yeah! 🙂

    wishing you great mornings (and envy you that bath tub too… 🙂

    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Ah Vera,

      I am sure my life would be enhanced by having a cat in it, but I am not sure it would be fair on the cat. Living, as I do, in a flat with no direct acess to the outside would I fear be too restrictive. I do manage to successfully co-habit with plants from time to time. Will that do? 🙂
      Oh, and spiders!!!

      You leave me smiling at the thought of the disdainful look on Karley’s face as you pamper the cat. 🙂

      I am off now to enjoy that bath tub

      You all (including Karley and Niddy) have a good week without hurry 🙂

      David

  6. peta straatman Says:

    This has brought back memories of my very young days when I could get from sound asleep to running out the front door dressed in full school uniform in 10 minutes flat (having detoured via the bathroom and kitchen). You have caught above exactly how things are now.
    A technical question … why did you split “decide” and “what to wear” onto two separate lines?
    Peta 🙂

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile*

      I remember those days too Peta. Nowadays I am not even human without those two mugs of tea and two cigarettes 🙂

      As for splitting the lines – it was to do with pacing. I want to try to control the pace of the poem to the reader. Splitting the lines makes you read it slightl differently than if I had put it all on one line – at least that was the intention 🙂

      Take care
      David

  7. *LOL*

    Hi David,
    Great to see your muse shining so strongly! I love this!
    I certainly relate too. Come mid-morning I feel as if I’ve run a marathon, then again some mornings if it weren’t for the smell of expresso brewing I might not make it past the bedcovers… 🙂

    Thankyou for the big smile, it will surely keep me in good spirits through my day. 😀

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Tikarma,

      Thank you 🙂

      My muse is quite determined that I should never take myself too seriously 🙂

      I am always delighted when I can make you smile. Smiling does help make the world turn more smoothly.

      You have a good smile-full week

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  8. Goodmorning David, can you move over in that magic tub of yours, I need some inspiration for a new chapter 🙂

    Can you really speak Maori?

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile* I can always find room for you Ina in my magic tub!!! We could then both get in touch with our creative side 🙂

      Actually no, I cannot speak Maori. In fact I only know the one word!! I was introduced to it by a friend from New Zealand and was so taken with its shape and sound, and of course meaning that it has been part of my vocabulary ever since.

      Arohanui
      David

  9. This made me smile David. And judging by the number of comments, I think you’ve hit the spot for very many people (your Muse has clearly got around a bit – you should keep an eye on her!).
    By the way, I think you were absolutely right to break that line after ‘decide’. The pause creates a moment of suspense: “what’s he got to decide then?”

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you John,

      The thought that I would be able to keep an eye on my muse makes me smile – she has a mind all her own!!
      All I know is that I best pay attention 🙂

  10. I’m a morning person–hop up and ready to run. 🙂

    You do this kind of short, sharp-bladed poetry better than most anyone I’ve read. While I prefer poetry that enhances and expands language, instead of compacting it, I can still appreciate the discipline it takes to pack half a day into so few words. You earned a rest. 🙂

    Bath trumps shower any day!

    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      🙂 My mornings require two cups of tea and two cigarettes before I am even human!!

      Thank you for the compliment – I do appreciate that. I suspect too that you will enjoy the next poem I have posted – it does make use of language in a different way to this one.

      It does appear to be the general concensus that bath trumps shower 🙂

      Take care

      David

  11. that’s it, have a nice sit-down, you deserve it !

    Nice to stumble upon a good poetry blog here; I enjoyed reading and will keep tabs in future

Leave a Reply

