Chasing Shadows

Slipping sideways through a portal
in the firmament
I catch fleeting glimpse of shadow
disappearing round a corner
in endless corridor;

stand still long enough to ponder
wisdom of pursuit;
I have spent a lifetime chasing
shadows created by my mind.
This time I let it go.

Ā 

22 Responses to “Chasing Shadows”

  1. I absolutely relate to this I too make daily moment by moment choices not to chase shadow…a very good piece

  2. christine Says:

    I just love this! As I said to you this morning. I find it amazing how you wrote it so quickly. It must be a very satisfying feeling when such a good fornarion of words just tumbles on to the page.

    For me this is a poem about recovery and the progress made by consciously letting the shadow go. Wonderful!

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      šŸ™‚

      When my muse speaks Christine I do well to listen.
      She trusts me nowadays to take her tumble of words and turn them into a poem!! šŸ™‚

      Lots of love
      David
      xxx

  3. I fully agree with this insight, told so beautifully!! Hugs David!!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I am always delighted to see you Sandy.

      Are you posting poems still? – send me a link if you are because I miss reading them

      Hugs to you too

  4. What a great poem! The image and the feel, both. I hope there will always be a light to keep those shadows away!

  5. Elaine Randall English Says:

    Letting it go, is winning……my muse is waking too…..just drowsy and stretching like a big old cat….not really twinkle toes yet…but there’ll be something new soon…..well…there already is…but it’s not that great and I won’t air it for several days ……but STAY tuned.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I love the image Elaine of your muse “stretching like a big old cat” šŸ™‚

      I really look forward to reading the results of her musings šŸ™‚

      I will stay tuned

  6. I really like this David šŸ™‚
    ‘Letting go’ is so liberating, isn’t it! x

  7. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    It’s a poem one wants to read several times just because it paints such a good picture …yes, letting go is good!

    wishing you a good week!
    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      What a lovely comment Vera. Thank you.

      My paintings are all done with words šŸ™‚

      I read about the weather hitting Australia and worry about my friends over there. I hope you are safe and well.

      I hope both you and Karley have a good week

      David

  8. peta straatman Says:

    Hi,
    this is one I shall print off and stick up as the current reminder to me that I need to live in reality and in the moment.

    Welcome back to your muse, she was obviously only resting for a while.

    luv Peta

    • belfastdavid Says:

      šŸ™‚ Thank you Peta.

      I knew she was only resting – Nonetheless I am pleased she has woken.

      Luv David

  9. This reminds me very much of another poem you wrote about chasing a shadow. It was posted on Myspace, I think. Exceptional ink, Irish!

    I agree with you. The older I get, the less inclined I am to chase those shadows, which are different from dreams. We control the path of our dreams. Shadows control our journey, if we allow them the opportunity to take us, and they can be shape-shifting. I no longer trust them to be true to the object they pretend to portray.

    Give me a hand in a hand, a smile just for me, and eyes close enough to tell me they are real and going nowhere without me. That is what I need.

    Take care of yourself,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      šŸ™‚

      You define it so exactly when you describe shadows as “Shape-shifting” – ephemeral too and impossible to grasp hold of!!
      We create those shadows for ourselves and then, as you say, allow them to “control our journey” – Insanity lies in that direction!!

      My reality of today turns out, more often than not, to be in line with what was previously in my dreams šŸ™‚

      Your last sentence says it all!!

      You take care of yourself too

      David

  10. Hi David,

    I’ve read this several times now. It’s just such a brilliant poem!

    Sometimes the greater strength is in letting go.
    It’s not just learning a new way, but also letting go of fear and destructive comfort zones.

    I really relate to this poem. I’ve chased far too many ghosts, and I hope I’ve learned my lessons and won’t find my self running in the same circles in the future. It makes one rather dizzy. šŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing this most beautiful poem!! I’ll surely be back to re-read! šŸ™‚

    I hope all is well you’re side of the pond and you’ve had a lovely weekend.

    Arohanui
    ((BSH))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Tikarma,

      I am smiling out loud at “It makes one rather dizzy” it does just that!! Takes me too to that dark place with my head stuck up my own………..!!! šŸ™‚

      “Letting go” is such a simple concept and yet sometimes so difficult to carry out!!! And challenging “destructive comfort zones” so frightening because we have to face up to our own delusions!! But so worth while!!

      I am having a lovely weekend – I was at a poetry editing workshop yesterday which was intense and terrifically rewarding – I will post a poem later on this week. My muse, having been awoken by the challenge of writing a poem around a line pinched from someone else’s poem šŸ™‚ is now beginning to enjoy herself again. Thank you

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  11. To stop chasing shadows is an art that I am still trying to learn. I enjoyed this poem, David.

Leave a Reply

