First I Dreamt the Journey – Introduction

 

“First I Dreamt the Journey is a meditative reflection on the path to self-knowledge, cast within a narrative that sets an old man as teacher to a young man. Written in the form of a prose poem, it borrows from the tradition of Platonic dialogue but is set firmly in contemporary times with references to planes and oil-slicked beaches. A nameless old man sits at the top of a beautiful valley and passes on his learnings about the world to a young man who craves more from life. The history is personal – the old man’s journey has been the route into and back from alcoholism – but many of the conclusions are universal. This is self-help presented as an atmospheric, meditative and engaging narrative, an incitement to take charge of your life, to arrive, like the old man on his coast of Donegal, at your own place of contentment and freedom.” – Kath Powlesland.

First I Dreamt the Journey is my second book – It was published in 2008 and is the book I always wanted to write.

First I Dreamt the Journey – is devoted entirely to the process of getting well. This book is not poetry, rather poetic prose – a book length prose poem if you like. It is written as a series of guided visualisations which all help with the process of recovery. If the reader is prepared to take the time and do the visualisations they will find themselves able to better experience their own journey.

The book is intended to be read in sections with the reader taking time in between sections to reflect. That being the case I propose to serialise it here over the course of a period of months.

I hope that those of you who are new to it will enjoy the process.
I hope also that those of you who have read it before will enjoy the process of reading it again on here.

If you are encouraged to purchase the book I would be delighted – click on Books under Pages on my Home page.

Part 1 will be posted in the next few days.

David

26 Responses to “First I Dreamt the Journey – Introduction”

  1. christine Says:

    I am really looking forward to this David.

    I have read the book now and feel that the familiarity will help cement the enourmous benefit I have received from it.

    I remember years ago we used to talk about writing books and its a delight to see how you have progressed with what were then, mere distant houghts.

    You have quite clearly put a great deal of hard work into this and your other books and have as a result shared your remarkable insight with us, which is priceless.

    I love the blue you have used for the title! Its very haunting and dreamlike.

    I am incredibly proud of you. You are a star.

    lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Christine,

      It is fascinating what happens when we put those dreams out there – We talked about writing books then but I am not sure I truely believed it would happen.

      But then I don’t write the script! All I need to do is lay out the dream, keep doing what I have to do, have faith and trust the process.

      Lots of love

      David
      xxx

  2. fantastic David Looking forward to the post!!

  3. Delighted to hear your serializing such a fantastic book. I hope many others get the wonderful benefit, which I got from this great book of insight and inspiration. Thank you David!

  4. I’m psyched! I’ll be on to every word. Putting them into your lovely accent!

    Say that it’ll be in a print font rather than a script one, David. Please say that it will!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      LOL – Yes Leeza the rest will be in print format. I was trying something different but it didn’t really work.

      As for my “lovely accent” perhaps I ought to record each section and then put it up on YouTube to coincide with puttin it on here. I shall ponder on that.

  5. I hope to learn more about the journey to recovery. Good luck with the publication on this blog and, as a reader, thanks for posting it here.

  6. Can hardly wait!! You are an amazing man, David!! Hugs!!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Ah Sandy, Thank you.

      Perhaps I ought to drop in on MyBoomerPlace – I will when I get time.

      Hugs to you too

  7. This is a generous gesture on your part. I’ll look forward to the feedback. I enjoyed the book, and I think anyone can get good from it–we are all in recovery from something, even if it is simply from ourselves. 🙂 It’ll be interesting to add the insight of others to what the words have already given me.
    It will also be good to see how you divide the pages–the importance you place on what should be thoroughly absorbed before going to the next phase.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Shirley,

      I figured that if I wanted to get the book to a wider audience then I could either put in a lot of time and effort promoting it (which I am not really comfortable with) or do it this way.

      Recovery is always about getting over ourselves 🙂

      I will be interested on your own feedback on this process

  8. christine Says:

    You know we are both capable of writing the occasional script!!

    Smile

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I do know that Christine.
      But when we are writing scrpts we are trying to force the dream.
      The only way is to put the dream out there and then trust the process 🙂

      xxx

  9. I’ve been waiting to see if you would excerpt from your books…This will help me decide if I should buy or not…

  10. The phrase “put the dream out there” is lovely; it makes everything feel achievable, and gives me hope.

    Thank you for these words which you gave to me a long time ago. Back then I didnt know how to use them. Now furyher down the road of recovery I have more insight and can understand their significance.

    love

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      🙂 The longer we are in recovery the more we experience dreams coming true.

      Soon you will have a decade in and at one stage you would have never believed that was possible. Well done

      love

      David
      xxx

  11. David,

    My apologies I’m so late getting here. My week suddenly went pear shaped, though I’ve no idea what a good week amounts to in fruit but nonethless slowly but surely I make my way forward. 🙂

    First I Dreamt The Journey is certainly my most favourite book, in part because it does offer the reader so much if they choose to explore the contents and story further.
    It can be read as a most touching narrative or it can be used as mediatation for greater growth of the self. I think I also enjoy it because it is a book you can dip in and out of. The arragmement of the progession of the journey of the young man learning for the elder is done in such a way that you don’t need the whole to gain something from the part, although that said the the whole story is worth the time to dwell upon. 🙂

    It’s a book I still dip in and out of. It has been of immense value to me.

    I think this very generous for you do for poetinal readers and your older readers alike. I hope you enjoy looking back at it again as you post up each section. I’m certainly looking forward to it. 🙂

    Arohanui
    ((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Tikarma,

      No apologies necessary – I fully understand life getting in the way!! 🙂

      Thank you for your comments on what you get from the book – they are much appreciated.

      And you touch on something which is of course true – doing this allows me to re-engage with the book and perhaps some of the comments will allow me to reflect differently. I am looking forward to the process 🙂

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  12. Hi David, is it up already? 🙂

  13. A serialization is a great idea, David. As you say, it will help in the process of reflection. I first read it during a long haul flight to the States and enjoyed it immensely. My second reading was on the way back. The difference that time though was that it was a night flight. The majority of people were asleep, lights off apart from my reading light, and in that cocooned environment, in semi darkness, it felt like a small cave, bringing the book alive for me and aiding the reflective process. I learned alot. Looking forward to it again.

    L,.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Leigh,

      I love to learn more about how people experience the book. I know of someone else who read it first during two long bus journies and his experience of it was not dis-similar to your own. Perhaps there is something about journeys! 🙂

      My best to you
      David

Leave a Reply

