Peace Process

This poem was written a little while ago, but I am posting it now because it was included in the October 2010 edition of Scribe magazine. The theme of the magazine was “Crossing the Line”. I thought that the poem fit and I am delighted at its inclusion

Peace Process

It was all very well
me pushing a brick
out of the wall
in order that
I could hold your hand,

But then

when the whole bloody thing
came tumbling down
we were left wide-eyed,
smiling, and saying
“How the hell did that happen?”

32 Responses to “Peace Process”

  1. The imagery here is fantastic, but the premise is one hundred percent realistic. That wall, that brick wall of our can only stand for so many bricks to be pushed aside before it crumbles around us and we are left wondering, as you so aptly put it, “How the hell did that happen?”

  2. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Congratulations for your poem to be included in the 2010 October issue of the Scribe magazine!! It’s a very nice poem!

    Have a good week,
    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Vera,

      You and Karley have a good week too. I look forward to visiting your blog and seeing more of your work

      Take care

      David

  3. seeker of truth Says:

    As it very well should have!! Congratulations, a marvelous piece!!

  4. Congratulations, David! I can see why it was chosen. 🙂

  5. I love this poem. It says such a lot in a few compact lines.

    It would have served very well in one of our magazines in my CND days of dungarees, protest and funny cigarettes.

    It can apply to so many aspects of life.

    And ever so well done for having it included in the magazine!

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Christine,

      I am always surprised when my poems appear in magazines 🙂

      I doubt if I would have got much written if I had been indulging in “funny cigarettes”

      Lots of love

      David
      xxx

  6. reminds me of playing Jenga…
    nice poem David and congrats to you.
    I hope you are well ~
    Peace,
    Angela

  7. Leeza Coleman Says:

    Famous last words: “How on earth did that happen???!!!”

    Epic and epigrammatic. Yummy.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Leeza,

      Sometimes when I think about getting sober I think “How on earth did that happen?” 🙂

      David

  8. Congratulations David! It’s a good poem, and deserving of recognition.

  9. Congratulations!! David on the acceptance of your poem in Scribes October edition.
    It is a most worthy poem, powerful and beautiful in its imagery and sentiments.

    Take care
    Arohanui
    ((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Tikarma,

      Sometimes the fewer words used the more is said. Sometimes I need to remember that. 🙂

      Take care
      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  10. Hi David,

    BIG congratulations! Well deserved indeed. I bet you are chuffed!

    This poem has always been one of my favourites. Such a simple poem that just speaks volumes. And I just love the last line that always puts a smile on my face.

    Well done!

    Beannachd leat my friend,

    Jamie

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Jamie,

      I am always pleased when I put a smile on your face.
      I am chuffed

      The more I think of it the more I think that last line applies to all sorts of things in my life. 🙂

      Beannachd leat to you too my friend

      David

  11. A short poem which is very effective in it’s stimulating food for thought (:

  12. Very sweet. 🙂

  13. Especially like the first stanza, David. You look in and outwards at the same time so well.

  14. Hi David, I haven’t read all it seems 🙂 A pleasnt surprise to find this little brick in the wall of poetry 🙂 Short and good, like it. Scribe magazine, is that an online one?

    Hugs and much love

Leave a Reply

