Morning

As the early morning sunlight
dapples through the foliage
reflecting trail of spiders
setting traps among the leaves

I watch the flowers straining
to catch incoming warmth;
view tulips, ponder
on the taste of nectar
in their upturned cups.

47 Responses to “Morning”

  1. christine Says:

    What a lovely surprise to see this poem so soon! It’s just what we all need on a day like we have here today. You have captured a moment so beautifully.

    I was just going to go off the computer and decided to have one more look on your wordpress site. So glad I did!

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Christine,

      I was getting a bit fed up with myself so decided this poem would give me a lift and change my mood.

      Lots of love

      David

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Jingle

      ?????

      • welcome to attend poets rally week 33,

        only if you place your entry in, then you are a formal participant, traffic comes in more steadily…
        poetry awards are given to participants only. thus you bet get yourself well known to the community by participation.
        Happy Friday!
        Hurry up.

      • belfastdavid Says:

        I will get there Jingle,

        I am beset by busy at the moment but as soon as I clear some space I will join in

        Happy Monday to you

  2. You already know i find this expressly beautiful.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      It was your previous comment Rose which decided me to persevere with this poem.

      I have tidied it a little bit but it is essentially the same.

      Thank you

  3. David,

    I am happy I decided to check my messages when I came in for lunch. This is a very uplifting poem. I seem to be the only one so far who hasn’t read it, so maybe it’s an older one I missed reading before. No matter, it is lovely, and it is really good to see your mind in a sunny place while it is raining so much over there.

    This poem has something of the same feel to it as Hummingbird. It prompts readers to examine a moment more closely, and it makes us realize there are many worlds inside our own, each one in itself as large as the infinite space we know as our universe.

    Well done.

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      The first version Shirley, went up in a comment as a response to Rose’s poem of the same title.

      It came back to me this afternoon as the antidote to looking out the window and realising that this is the first day this winter when I have had the lights on all day. So I played with it a little bit and then posted it.

      Thank you for the comparison to Hummingbird – that is a poem I am very pleased with.

      And you are right – I was able to take myself to a sunnier place by working on the poem.

      Thank you
      Much love
      David

  4. I think this is an expression of nature as seen through eyes that wonder. By wonder I mean to be mesmerized with nature’s offerings, normal things that most pass by with just a cursory glance.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Jerry,

      As the man said “Don’t forget to stop and smell the flowers on the way” πŸ™‚

      David

  5. This is lovely David – the tulips made me think of spring – which seems such a long way off – but it ‘s something to look forward to!
    The poem brightened this gloomy day!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Ali,

      It is a spring poem really but if it brightened a gloomy day for you I am delighted. It did for me too

  6. I love tulips,
    so refreshing and pleasing in eyes.

  7. Leeza Coleman Says:

    Yay! This is wonderful! I love the image of flowers doing their morning stretching toward the sun, heavy the nectar for bees and hummingbirds and other friends.

    Best of all, the picture of the spiders’ lovely houses glinting in the light!

    I love spiders – so I am always happy to see them in poems.

    You did good.

    Also putting up my name in the myspace blog. I like stuff where my name shows up.

  8. i love this muse

  9. seeker of truth Says:

    Smiling… I love all of your writes, but this one even more so!! My day will be a little brighter because of your words!! Thanks, Hugs David!!

  10. I really do like the way you think πŸ™‚

  11. Hi David,

    This is a really sweet poem! You seem to have captured the esence of Spring in your moment of contemplation.
    I like the stillness that comes through in this poem. A pause to look and appreciate the more fragile elements of nature that bring us a sense of so much beauty.
    This was most uplifitng. The smile it brought me gives me hope I’ll break through my current down.
    Thankyou for sharing this.

    Take good care yourself. πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    ((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxox

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Tikarma,

      It is always when I contemplate the small things, the simple things that I find myself restored. Nature has much to teach me when I allow it to touch me – not the least of which is patience. And my own experience of the downs is that they do pass – just stick in there – we both know how to do that πŸ™‚

      And don’t forget the deep breathing.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  12. I’m crazy about how this poem eases into such a feeling of sensuality at the end!

  13. I really like & can identify with this short, yet very descriptive & evocative poem. Nature rules (:

  14. Peter Doyle Says:

    Tea and toast for me please David. Nectar is for the birds.

  15. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    A beautiful way to start a day! I like this poem!
    oh! and nectar tastes just like honey – as kids we used to
    take certain flowers apart and eat the bit with the nectar in because it tasted so sweet (yes, we didn’t have a lolly shop anywhere near the boarding school πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing such a moment so nicely!

    Vera & Karley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Big Smile*

      I knew there must be somebody out there who had tasted nectar!

      I am now off out to buy myself a lolly – haven’t had one in ages πŸ™‚

      Take care

      David

  16. beautiful poem πŸ™‚

  17. Beautiful. I feel as if I was there, seeing just what you saw or envisoned: the spiders and flowers – and feeling the warmth of the sun. Just wonderful. Good job.

    Am here for Jingle’s Thursday Poets Rally. Hope you enjoy your visits and visitors. Poem on, David. πŸ™‚

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Jamie for this lovely comment.

      I will be signing up for Jingle’s Thursday Poets Rally soon

      Look forward to seeing you there πŸ™‚

  18. A.B. Thomas Says:

    A fantastic write, as I read it was like when that first sip of coffee hits me in the gut upon waking – that feeling of sedateness in what promises to be anything but for the rest of the day.

  19. ohhhhh, i think this should be an over extended haiku…that is the exact impression it gave me through its imagery πŸ™‚ glad to know you

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Glad to know you too Liliana,

      The topic certainly fits for a haiku, but I doubt if I could have pared it down that far πŸ™‚

  20. Hi David, this poem is so nice, and made me think a lot, I know tulips have no nectar, so there is something mysterious in these words. They ponder… πŸ™‚ like I do.

Leave a Reply

