LIPPFest

Leeds Independent Poetry Press Festival

Introducing this festival which I am involved with and excited about.

You may wish to put it in your diary now.

If you run a poetry group or are involved in the production of an ezine you may wish to contact us in order to get publicity at the festival – there are opportunities to put on fringe events

The festival will be held in the Carriageworks, Leeds  in 2011 on September 24th

What will LIPPFest do?

– Provide an annual platform (The LIPPFest Festival) for the very best in contemporary poetry from our independent presses including over 20 writers from diverse publishing houses.

– Provide poets with the opportunity to run workshops within a festival environment.

– Support young writers through a young-writer-in-residence programme and a chance for emerging writers to read alongside existing writers.

– Provide an open forum and a series of symposiums to debate the key issues in the independent press industry.

– Offer an annual marketplace where independent presses and writers can come to sell books for free, without paying commission or paying a fee for their market space.

– Co-operate with key organisations and publishers within the Independent Press Industry to help promote, market and sell independent press books.

– Aim to bring contemporary poetry to as wide and diverse an audience as possible, encouraging the reading and purchase of independent press books.

More details in forthcoming blogs

10 Responses to “LIPPFest”

  1. christine Says:

    This sounds great David. It is already in my diary.

    It has led me to think about how far you have come since a day about five years ago when you told me you were starting to use poetry as a form of meditation. You also once told me, if I remember correctly, arm raised and finger pointing high to “put a dream out there”…. This shows what we can achieve if we want something enough and are prepared to work for it.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Smiling*

      I remember saying that Christine,
      You never do know where you can get to if you “put a dream out there*
      All you have to do is trust the process

      Love
      David

  2. christine Says:

    i havent finished, it just took my words away!!

    I also wanted to say thank you for reading my stuff and for encouraging me to believe in myself

    lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I am smiling at the thought of the look on your face Christine when “it just took your words away!!”

      You have talent Christine and deserve to be encouraged

      Lots of love
      David
      xxx

  3. Leeza Coleman Says:

    People with English accents sound smarter than we. LIPPFest would be so much fun = all those smart accents gathered in once place! The dumb Yank!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      You put yourself down unfairly Leeza.

      American poets such as Mary Oliver and Sharon Olds were a big influence in getting me interested in poetry.

      David

  4. I wish. *wistful smile*

    I know you and your friends will have a good time. We are slowly starting to enjoy more such events here, or maybe I have just made more of an effort to find them. I’m going to a Literary Festival in Dahlonega, GA next weekend. Really looking forward to it.

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Smiling*

      Once you start to look Shirley it is surprising what you can find.

      I am sure you will really enjoy next weekend

      Much love,
      David

  5. David,

    If I could get on a plane I would be there with bells on. 🙂

    I’m so happy for you that this event is taking place! It’s great that you have such wonderful opportunites to get out there and explore more the world of poetry/literature and see others being encouraged along as well.
    It sounds so wonderful!!

    I wish we had things like this here. Unfortunatly living semi-rural it requires a car to get to the city and its outer suburbs, something I’m lacking… I’ll just always feel blessed for the internet.
    🙂

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxox

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Tikarma,

      I often think about leaving the city to go live by the seaside. But I am aware how much I would miss by doing that.
      Life is always a balance – I really wish I understood what that word means!! 🙂
      But I do know I am grateful for what I have got – the internet being just one of those things.
      You take good care of yourself.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

Leave a Reply

