Re-Assurance

Filed along the edges
of my memory
are moments
which defy attempts
to bring them out,
replay in conscious mind.

But in the heat
of now
they emerge,
guide instincts
along well-trodden
pathways.

There is comfort
in the knowledge
that, whilst not
as was before,
the now, though
different, is the same.

36 Responses to “Re-Assurance”

  1. I love this. I see a depth of meaning in here which, as the poem unfolds, becomes more evident to me. Once again you have managed to capture moments in life which could carry significance for any one of us.

    I find the way you write vry relaxing to read.I can meander through your poetry over and over with, seemingly, all the the time in the world on my side.

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Smiling*

      Thank you Christine. Enjoy your meander – you do have “all the time in the world”

      Lots of love

      David
      xxx

  2. I’ve trod this road before
    Memories fleeting in recollection
    The best is there to dwell on
    Draw and change to fit anew

  3. What a great way to say same shit, different day.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      πŸ™‚

      I’m not quite sure Rose, that was what I was trying to say, but then a poem is whatever it says to the reader!

      Thank you
      David

  4. I like this very much David.
    it’s like meeting an old friend….
    for the very first time. :)xo

  5. Leeza Coleman Says:

    Sweet! Yes, it’s there when we need it. Our mind shuffles through the files and pushes it to the fore and we don’t feel anything but the sense of comfort of “Oh, of course.” You got it absolutely right. Nice work.

  6. Hi David,

    I really liked this poem.
    There most certainly is a reassurance that while circumstance may change its face the path trodden is one familiar and thus you have it within you to make the best of whatever situtation you face.
    There is a cyclical nature to life and experiance I found in my own travels and I guess that’s why there are many points of relation we can make with others. We are all travelling similar journeys.

    This poem reads very much like a mediation for me and each time I read it something diferent will come to the forefront.
    You’ve once again managed to wrap profound concepts into a package that the mind and heart easily absorb.
    I greatetly admire that ability.
    This is poem I’ll be reading many more times again.

    Thankyou for sharing.
    All my best wishes to you.
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xxoxoxo

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Tikarma,

      Interesting you should refer to meditation – I was meditating at the time and the poem emerged in my head almost fully formed. The only change I made was to turn it from something very specific into something which I hoped was universal. So I am delighted with your response that “each time I read it something different will come to the forefront”

      My own reflection on it since has been to think about instincts. In my drinking days my instinct was always that I needed a drink. Nowadays it is totally different. I guess if we build up good instincts our interaction with the world will change for the better. πŸ™‚

      Take care of yourself
      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  7. Love the ending of this, David. A nice smile to start the day.

  8. Yes, a thoughtful, enjoyable read. It’s always interesting observing ourselves & our funny developing ways over the years (:

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Jeff,

      Yes, it is good to reflect from time to time on where we are and how we got there.
      In your case I see an increasing Irish influence in your writing

      David

  9. Peter Doyle Says:

    Hmmm… paradoxical… a beautiful, simple complexity to this. This is like those things that emerge when you are having a deep conversation with a wise friend. Lovely flavour to it David.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I love that phrase Peter – “beautiful, simple complexity”

      Life is just like that is it not.

      Thank you
      David

  10. To me I see one evolving and learning life lessons on the journey and growing. I might be totally off. It’s late.

    Love you David.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Elly, a pleasure to see you here.

      And I don’t think you were off at all, however late it was.

      Love
      David

  11. good observation …. i’m pretty sure that’s why we have calendars and clocks that circle ….to give the illusion of repeating time rather than exploring unknown linear territory.

    but it’s also why people wake up surprised to find an extra wrinkle on their face! they think because it is thanksgiving again that they are traveling in a circle or at the least a spiral. it’s interesting how our brains process “fact” that is actually social norm. like the “fact” that it’s Tuesday, and yesterday was a day where everyone decides collectively to be miserable, and they do so at seven-day intervals.

    myself, i would name the months like they name hurricanes. but there is no real recourse for not-numbering the days short of going from the current system to one simple meter that goes up. like the way a prisoner marks the walls. because this is not Fall AGAIN. just because the planet travels in a circle doesn’t mean we have to. it creates a false consistency that’s fun to latch onto. but the greater fallacy within that is that between spinning on a globe that also travels in a circle, the variations should be completely and utterly predictable. and they are not. so something isn’t jiving.

    in other words, if was all as they say, we should be able to walk outside and say it’s tuesday, time for our tuesday rain. so the tilt of the axis must be varying back and forth in some non-predictable manner or perhaps the moon has regulatory function dependent on other factors (like how many meteors bounce off it at any given time). other thing to consider, is the meter itself being the only thing “off” … which it IS. we make sure it is, giving the months different numbers of days, and even changing one according to what YEAR it is! just so that we can map SOME consistency, but it’s very likely we can map complete consistency in all things global, and simply keep to our old manner of calendar for the sake of tradition more than anything else. maybe the “end of the myan calendar” is a time when we should change it to something a little more accurate and something that doesn’t chase its damn tail! lol ….because according to theories of the universe expanding, there is also a linear direction in which we are traveling in relation to other heavenly bodies.

    the only real reason for this compulsive mapping is a “countdown” for how many years or days or whatever one most likely has left to live. and the MORE time you have available, then one’s confidence runs an inverse correlation to that.

    and so clocks and calendars are a manifestation of man’s awareness of his own mortality. (which is basically what we were “gifted” with separate from the animals, not “knowledge of good and evil.”)

    thanks for the inspiration! sorry to go on like that 😦

    for the most part i avoid clocks and calendars …. sort of keep them at the edge of my vision if not completely out of sight on days i would rather live forever πŸ™‚

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Wonderful!

      I am delighted Eileen that a few words of mine can inspire you in this fashion.

      It is Wednesday now and 8:00am and my world has spun to a place I did not think it would be this time 24 hours ago.

      πŸ™‚

  12. Cheryl Darr Says:

    Fabulous piece, David. I really enjoyed this.

  13. I really like this David – comforting and reassuring…
    hope you’re having a good week, Ali x

  14. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    I understand this as a re-assurance of “self” rather than the change of time, – that although it is now and not whenever back then, my “self” has guided me and is still the same in the “now” ..this might be totally wrong, you may have purely wanting to express how experiences teach us and from that aspect it does not matter that now is different, the action of responding because of our experiences is still the same … in any case, as you see, your poem got me thinking, – and I enjoyed it!

    have a good weekend,
    Vera & Karley :=)

    • belfastdavid Says:

      The poem was written Vera, from your first viewpoint. It was only on thinking about it afterward that I realised the seconf could just as well apply.

      I love it when my muse surprises me like that. πŸ™‚

      My very best to you and Karley

  15. peta straatman Says:

    On reading this, my first reaction was the same as Vera’s (or more bluntly, same shit, different day). However, I then pondered further.

    I’ve done a lot of hard travelling along the highways and byeways of The Road Less Travelled. Surely (please!) I am not going to react in the same way now in a situation similar to one from years back??

    “Filed along the edges of my memory … guide instincts along well trodden paths”. Yes. This is both very comforting in its familiarity and very scary “it’s the rabbits that will get you”.

    Thanks for making me think … I think!

    luv Peta

    [I hope this all makes some sort of sense]

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Peta,

      I stand by the poem.
      However I did not mean to imply that we are not capable of change – you and I both know that change is possible.
      Part of changing is replacing old habits with new habits – if we work hard enough eventually the new habits become instincts – instincts which we can rely on.
      If we do that then hopefully “the rabbits won’t get you” – It is always the rabbits which are most dangerous!!

      Next time a more straightforward poem methinks. πŸ™‚

      Love David

      • peta straatman Says:

        Hi David,

        I initially accepted this poem at face value “yes, of course, now he has said it, that is exactly how it is”. I then started thinking about it …

        This is the first time I’ve been fired up enough by a poem to apply it to my life and question it. Perhaps my reading ability is developing in the same way as your skill at writing complex depth into a succinct poem.

        I shall think on about about all this.

        love Peta

      • belfastdavid Says:

        πŸ™‚

        If the poem has made you think Peta, then it has worked.

        Love David

  16. Steve Robbins Says:

    It’s good to see that your memory is back, my friend. πŸ™‚ Well penned!

  17. again your style and grace shows through and feels like im walking down a wooded path on a warm day, haveing great memories, and knowing i can do it again tomorrow.. love this its so beautiful love and hugs inky

Leave a Reply

