Autumn Days

 

 

I step out into freshness
of a September morning,
watch as sunlight
bruises the crest of the moor,
luminesces purple
of heather in bloom,

drive on, park by the prom,
walk along the beach,
deserted at this time of day,
pick up a piece of driftwood,
write I am
in big letters in the sand.

I will no longer be
when the tide comes in,
but later, back at home,
as night gathers close
around my window,
I will smile.

38 Responses to “Autumn Days”

  1. Literally started to clap my hands when I finished reading this.

    Thanks for sharing it!

  2. Elaine Randall English Says:

    Just wanted to let you know I have enjoyed your new writing….haven’t been very creative, but hopefully you will inspire me! ha ha

  3. oh, I love this! You paint such a vivid picture – I could see it all and it made me smile!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Then we are both smiling Ali!

      The poem was a trip to Whitby in my head (but I am sure you knew that). I will probably go for real later on this week

      David

  4. Sandy (Seeker of Truth) Says:

    David, you brought a huge smile to my face with the lovely piece.. Thanks for the great day!!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      More smiles! This is turning into a lovely warm Sunday morning, even though it is grey outside.

      Thank you Sandy

      David

  5. David, this reminds me of the time you and I went to Whitby. We stopped on ther moors to capture the view and take in some delicious heather tinged fresh air.

    And the joy of writing in the sand, such a carefree, childlike pastime. The tide will wash away the words but you will always have the memory.

    This is a beautiful poem.

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I often stop on the moors Christine on my way there. And sometimes on the way back too just to get a last look across the abbey *Smile*

      There is something about walking on the sand which invokes the child in me, perhaps in us all. The next time I go I will be sure to have a paddle.

      Thank you

      Lots of love

      David
      xxx

  6. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Lovely to be able to come along, thanks for sharing and the smile, which comes just as one reads towards the end! I really enjoyed this! 🙂

    Have a great week!
    Vera

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Do you know Vera, when I wrote this poem it caused me to smile – because I didn’t know where it was going until it got there.

      Now there seem to be smiles all over the world – Terrific

      You have a great week too

      David

  7. Lovely poem. How wonderful for you. I’m happy to know you are in a better place for September.

    The thing that makes your words special, David, is that you are so open and honest about your feelings and your life.

    Thank you for sharing this.

    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Shirley,

      My poems are almost always written for me and emerge out of how I am feeling at the time they were written.

      I am delighted to be able to share them

      Much Love
      David

  8. This has to be my favorite of yours so beautiful beyond paradise.

  9. Love it David. I like your rather tentative being and not being, but you are firmly anchored by that smile! Goood work my friend.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      That’s a nice thought Res – “anchored by that smile”

      It is good to have it back.

      My best to you my friend

      David

  10. smiling – the important part

  11. pleasant day.
    may i walk along next time?

  12. Sounds like a perfect Fall day. Any day that you can smile about at the end is pretty damned good.

    Still over 90 degrees in Tulsa. I wait.

    I like your website blog. I’ll have to start my own after my recent myspace problems.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Pat for dropping in.

      There is so much wisdom in your thought about a smile at the end of a day – reminds me to be grateful.

      I was pleasantly surprised how relatively straight forward it was to set this up – go for it.

      Too hot for me in Tulsa I think

      David

  13. Steve Robbins Says:

    David, this is phenomenally beautiful and serenely profound. A joy to read and read and read again.

    I was listening yesterday to a dozen fine musicians who play Celtic music every Sunday at a local venue. They all gather to do this simply for love of the songs. Their joy is contagious. I thought of you my dear, poetic Irish friend. Life is good!

  14. Purple Paul Says:

    Well constructed poem, David! 🙂

  15. Hi David,

    This was such a lovely read! It bought such a smile to my face. This is such a sweet Autumn journey and I was really taken by the writing I Am in the sand, probably because it is something I do myself. *LOL*

    Even though we are experiancing different seasons right now, your poem just sits in perfect balance with my musings on Spring.
    I love the sychronisity too of our postings. 🙂

    You are certainly touching on some profound sentiments in this piece, but they’re not the deep thinking kind, just the kind that float in and settle down leaving me content and peaceful.

    Thankyou for sharing this poem. It’s beauty is sometihng I will take with me through the rest of my week.

    All my best to you
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xooxxo

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Tikarma,

      What a lovely comment – Thank you

      That it should leave you content, peaceful and smiling delights me.

      It was one of those poems which started from a thought (expressed in the first two lines) and then wrote itself. I love it when that happens.

      You take care
      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  16. peta straatman Says:

    love the phrase “as night gathers close around my window”.

    luv
    Peta

  17. Of course you will still ‘BE’, maybe not in the sand but. . .

    Nice, David. . . like it very much ~ hugs

  18. Oh this is wonderful, David!

Leave a Reply

