Possibilities

Among the hedgerows
which form the edges
of the mundanity
making up my life
hide possibilities.

It behoves me then
to stay awake, aware,
walk with my head
held up, look around,
pause along the way

for possibilities,
from time to time,
spark into life,
catch my attention,
make a difference.

22 Responses to “Possibilities”

  1. I like this very much David. It has such a theraputic effect. It says in a calm, reassuring and optimistic way that despite my condition there are possibilities out there for me. I love the phrase “head held up”. It is important not to give up although some days I feel like doing just that.

    At this point Im reminded of the phrase you gave me “a feeling is a feeling is a feeling….” it is what we do with it that matters. So own the feeling, take responsibility for it and be proactive. Aarrrgh!! I hate responsibility! That very kind gentleman who once said “Life is difficult” was so right.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Smile*
      There is litle doubt Christine that when I am walking round with my head stuck up my own backside I am very unlikely to be able to see possibilities.
      Sometimes I need reminded of that. Sometimes writing poems like this serves me as a reminder. *Smile*

      My Aunty Penny gave me that phrase and then I gave it to you – It’s how the message travels.

      And the book which begins with the words “Life is difficult” was one of the signposts on my own journey

      Love
      David

  2. Forgot to send you my love at the end of my comment!

    love

    xxx

  3. On beautiful autumn days, when there is just a sweet nip of cooler promises in the air, anything is possible. Being aware can change the journey from mundane to embraceable.

    Beautiful poem, Irish.

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Shirley,

      I think this poem following on from my last one (Stones) tells the story of my own gradual emergence from the malaise of August into the “cooler promises” of autumn

      Much love
      Irish

  4. Purple Paul Says:

    It’s amazing what we see if we turn our gaze even slightly away from the direction that we normally look towards.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      That is so true Paul,

      I guess if either you or I went back a few years, the future we were looking at then would be totally different from the future we are looking at now. And all from seeing possibilities. *Smile*

      David

  5. peta straatman Says:

    You have, again, hit the spot David. The mundanity of my life is the only thing I can deal with when all my effort is going into putting one foot in front of the other. I am again beginning to be able to walk with my head held high and am starting to wonder if I have the strength yet to explore some of the “possibilities” that may be lurking in the hedgerow.

    I too, love Autumn – in the “season of mists and mellow fruitfulness” kind of way that probably hasn’t happened since I was very young – a long time ago.

    Luv, Peta

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Smile*
      Now there is an interesting thing – I said hiding in the hedgerows, not lurking as you described it. Perhaps that one word makes a difference.

      I am already enjoying the fresher feel to autumn – my spirit is lifting by the day.

      You keep your head held up – you never know what the possibilities may bring

      Love
      David

      • peta straatman Says:

        okay, okay!! So you do pay attention!!

        You know very well that it is precisely “not knowing what the possibilities may bring” that makes them lurk – high potential for “not waving …”.

        I think it is time for another of your Aunty Penny’s phrases “Trust, Risk, Share”.

        Peta

      • belfastdavid Says:

        Ah Peta,

        My first draft of the poem had the word as lurking, but because of the connotations inherent in that word and because this was written as a positive poem I changed it to hiding.

        Take the risk

        David

  6. This is poem is really soothing and lovely David.

    It can be most amazing how the world changes when we look up. I guess too often at times we find ourselves going through life looking at our feet. Coming to the awareness of noticing a wider environment around us; a bigger world, can do wonders for our spirits.

    This poem really reminds me to not look down at least not too often. *smile* To keep my head held high and searching out those possibilities.

    This poem to me is a lovely rounding off from “Stones” almost a sense of clarity and calm as you cross the road on the next stage of your path. One could say the hedgerows on the edges of our mudane worlds make a labyrinth of our days. “Possibilites” would suggest you have found out how to navigate through it. *smile*

    This poem represents to me a hope. We can all do it and I’m certainly someone who believes in possibilites. Anything can happen even those things we never thought could be, if we allow them space to occur.

    Thankyou for sharing this poem. I suddenly feel more optimistic for having read it. *smile*

    Take care my friend.
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I love this comment Tikarma,

      It reflects, in its words. the optimism you refer to. Someone said to me today that your comment has a poetic quality to it and I agree with that.

      I suspect that you and I, and others too, who have experienced darker days when we walked around looking at the ground, have a sense of gratitude when we can hold our heads up and look again at possibilities. I lose that gratitude in the dark times and am always delighted when it returns.

      You are right too in your description of my poems as reflecting the movement in my own mood and circumstances. Perhaps, if I do another poetry book, I ought to include the poems in chronological sequence and allow them to tell their own story of my journey. – Which thought just occurred to me as I was writing this reply – a possibility do you think *Smile*

      So here’s to more OMG moments as we both explore the possibilities.

      Take care my friend
      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

      • David,

        I think your thoughts for a new book would pan out quite well! I’d say that’s an inspired thought! 🙂

        OMG moments It think are half the joy of living. 🙂

        As regards potectic qualities in my words. Total accident. I think I’m wriitng too much. *lol*

        Arohanui
        ((BSH)))
        Tikarma
        xxx

      • belfastdavid Says:

        Tikarma,

        The idea of doing a book in that fashion is growing on me – could be interesting.

        But for now what I really need to know is how you make those little smiley graphics appear in your comments!! LOL

        🙂 OMG

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        David
        xoxox

  7. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Such a nice poem to read and think about! So true too. As nice as hedges can be … yet there is more to see. I have also found that walking is an equally important point. When we “move” we seem to be much more likely to find possibilities …
    Your new possibility in arranging your poems in the sequence they came to you, sounds rather brilliant to me. A new book too, – Yes!!!…

    Have a good week,
    Vera, who doesn’t have to keep looking at the ground since having Karley to guide her 🙂

    • belfastdavid Says:

      What a lovely comment Vera,

      I agree with you about walking – I find it an ideal way to let my head clear and allow my thoughts to form in a more ordered sequence. I will often take a poem I am working on for a walk – it is surprising how often clarity arrives.

      We shall have to see about a new book. I need a pause after the last one but this idea of chronological order seems a good one

      My very best to both you and Karley (your comment about Karley made me smile)

      David

  8. Yes, it’s good to remian open as it can change our world within & without. I like this (:

  9. Oh me too. Love it!

Leave a Reply

