A Fairy Story

As this is my new blog site I intend to take the opportunity to post some of my older poems on here as well as new ones.

I am aware that those of you who have been reading my poems on MySpace may well have read the poems before. However I will try to keep it to poems which have not been up there for some time. This one, for instance was last posted over a year ago.

It is one of the earliest poems I wrote and was included in my first book – Walking into Eternity.

It was also one of my mother’s favourites which is as good a reason as any to include it here.

A Fairy Story

Once upon a time
as I sat on the grass
looking over the lake
a beautiful fairy
sat down beside me.

She held my hand, stroked
the back of it gently
and asked me why I was
crying. I had not known
that I was crying.

I don’t know, I said.
Perhaps I am happy
or perhaps I am sad,
but whatever I said
the tears would not stop.

I said that the peace,
the surroundings and the
beauty filled me with awe.
Who was I to enjoy
such beautiful things?

She allowed me to cry.
She allowed me to sob.
She allowed me to
feel a despair. She just
kept stroking my hand.

You are beautiful
too David she said. You
belong with beautiful
things. Why else would I come
to sit by your side?

Copyright David Agnew 2006

Mind you when my mother read the book, one of the first things she wanted to know was who is the beautiful fairy. I said the fairy is Hope. But she wasn’t having it – convinced that there was a woman involved! Duh!

There is too an interesting story associated with this poem –

I have a friend, Tikarma, who lives in South Australia. We have never met in person, only over the internet – however I regard her and her husband, Jamie, as very good friends. When Tikarma read the poem she was inspired to paint a picture.
She was further inspired to send the picture to me in England.
I have had it framed and it now hangs in a prominent place in my lounge.

My friend Carole visited a while back and said – “Every time I look at that picture I am reminded of the lake at Castle Howard.” (Castle Howard is a stately home in Yorkshire, England)

Now then, some facts –

When I wrote the poem the image of the lake at Castle Howard was in my head.
Carole did not know that.
Tikarma did not know that.
Tikarma could have no idea what the lake at Castle Howard looks like – it is at the opposite side of the world from her.

So the image of the lake has clearly transmitted itself via me to the poem, via the poem to Tikarma, via Tikarma to her painting and via her painting to Carole.

There is more connectivity in the world than we are aware of. But we should celebrate it.

David

28 Responses to “A Fairy Story”

  1. Sandy (Seeker of Truth) Says:

    I remember this and think of it often, when I am down.. Strange happenings all oft he time! Loved this, once again.. Be happy always, David!!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I am delighted you could drop in Sandy. Like you it is a poem and a story that I re-visit frequently – all I have to do is look at the painting on my wall and then close my eyes

      David

  2. Beautiful poem, David. I like to think of the butterflies in my back yard as fairies come to tell me all is well.

  3. I couldn’t help but giggle at your mothers’ comments on the beautiful fairy. I can almost see your exasperated face. *cheeky smile*.

    This is certainly one of my favourite poems of your David. It is always a pleasure to read it.
    The connections we make are indeed intriguing and at times humbling.
    Hope it would seem on some level is uniting. πŸ™‚
    I know for myself I always feel a little bit stronger after reading this poem.
    I remember the first time reading this. It really encapsulated the moment for myself as well when Hope entered my own life.

    One day I hope to correct the not having met in person aspect of our friendship. While I save my pennies though it always humbles me to know you keep the painting on your wall and I have your words to treasure. πŸ™‚

    Thankyou for re-posting this.
    Take care.
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxxoo

    • belfastdavid Says:

      *Smiling*

      There was never any doubt in my mind Tikarma that after the Reality poem this would be the next poem on this site. It evokes a lot of warm thoughts.

      My mother was immensely proud of my getting published. But she had the precious ability to keep me right-sized whilst letting me know she loved me. I miss her.

      Let us both hope that dream of meeting in person will some day come true.

      Hope was the flame which drew me into recovery – I need never forget that.

      I will be along to read your new blog post shortly.

      Take care
      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  4. i like the simple basic human nature and need for reassurance showcased in this. no bells and whistles, just saying “here, this is what it’s about.”

  5. Sarah Jones Says:

    I too believe that we have a higher connective consciousness and your experience with your friends makes perfect sense to me.

    I love the poem, I love all magical enchantment, it brings me closer to my inner child, and that makes me feel very happy, safe and protected.

    I love reading your poetry πŸ™‚

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Sarah,

      I think it is important to keep our mind open to what we don’t understand and to be prepared to nurture our inner child

      *Smile*

      David

  6. This poem, and the story you have to go along with it, always provoke a smile. I, too, see the painting in my mind every time I read this. Tikarma did such a beautiful job of capturing the words with an image–which is harder than capturing an image with words (that thing you like to do *smile*).
    You ARE beautiful too, Irish.

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      The poem, Tikarma’s picture and the story move round the world causing it seems smiles and warmth where ever they land.

      I guess that’s what this whole blogging thing is all about. *Smile*

      And now I am smiling and blushing at the same time.

      Thank you Shirley

      Much love to you
      David

  7. Big smile goes {{here}} David.
    For so many reasons A Fairy Story has always been one of my absolute favorites.

    With much love and hug from across the pond.
    Kathleen

    • belfastdavid Says:

      My pleasure Kathleen that you should choose to drop in.

      I love the way this poem has crossed oceans effortlessly.

      Much love and a hug to you too

  8. Hi David,

    As you know, I just adore this poem. It is very emotional and touching and full of the raw emotion of the self. Sometimes we need someone to just hold us as we cry, even if that someone is Hope. There is still great healing within it. And the fairy is a beautiful image. And I just love the last verse-

    “You are beautiful
    too David she said. You
    belong with beautiful
    things. Why else would I come
    to sit by your side?”

    Guarenteed to bring a tear to my eye every time I read it, yet so true and comforting.

    This poem will always serve as a wonderful link with our dear friend. I remember watching Tikarma paint it from start to finish, and with each brushstroke the miles just melted away. Both the poem and painting serve as a wonderful bond, and together with your wonderful story of the lake at Castle Howard, will always unite us not just as friends, but also as family.

    Beannachd leat my dear friend,

    Jamie

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Your comment Jamie has brought tears to my own eyes.

      That you and Tikarma can regard me as family moves very deeply – it will add to the warmth I feel every time I look at the picture.

      That beautiful fairy (Hope) lit a torch for me which she promised would never be extinguished – My journey since has proved the value of her promise.

      Beannachd leat and Arohanui to you both

      David

  9. this david is by far one of your most beautiful touching writes
    that i have had the pleasure of reading.
    so glad to once again find your writings.
    jo …

  10. Cyndi ( fireglow ) Says:

    What a beautiful poem, and what a beautiful story that goes with it !!!
    Any chance you could post a picture of the painting ?

    Cyn

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Cyn,

      You are not the only one to ask – so I have edited the post to include a picture of Tikarma’s painting

      Enjoy

      David

  11. I love a good fairytale…especially the true ones πŸ™‚

  12. JUST STOPPED BY TO SHOW SOME LOVE,,, I DO LOVE THIS POEM TOO,, IM CRAZY ABOUT FAIRIES AND CASTLES,, SO ITS ENCHANTING.. MISS YOU ON MY BLOG DAVID,, I HAVE SOME CASES OF SUDDEN FICTION AND LANDER THAT MISS YOU TOO.. BUT YOUR DOING WELL HERE,, LOVE AND HUGS INKY

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Good to see you Heidi,

      I haven’t gone away on MySpace, just struggling a bit to keep up at the moment. But I love your sudden fiction series so will be back soon to catch up. And I do still want to know when you publish a book of them

      Love and hugs to you too
      David

  13. the poem gave me a chill of recognition..the painting magnifies it..connected indeed. both are incredible. Thank you again David.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      I am delighted Marie with the reaction this poem, picture and story provokes.

      It always leaves me with the feeling that warmth does exist in this often unfeeling seeming world.

      Thank you

      David

  14. I really enjoyed your poem, which you posted on my birthday which I was celebrating at a harvest festival in Kikmurray, County Clare that afternoon.
    It’s amazing how the connectivity came through your poem to a painting, then the precise naming of the lake by another freind. I believe in that & synchronicity.
    I often visited a lake near Kilmihill in Clare, too, which you’ll find on my Myspace Eire photos. Happy co-creating & sharing. My “Return To The Mustic Garden” blog on Myspace also has pictures that seem very elemental & faery-like (:

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Jeff for your thoughts.

      If we are open I believe there is a lot of connectivity all around us, most of which we do not understand.

      I will be along to MySpace shortly to connect with your blog and your pictures.

      David

Leave a Reply

